• 46°

Swearing in of mayor, aldermen set for July 2

Vicksburg’s elected municipal officials will be sworn in during public ceremonies July 2 at 6 p.m. at the Vicksburg Auditorium in Monroe Street.

Under state law, according to the Secretary of State’s office, elected municipal officials take office July 3, but Mayor George Flaggs Jr. said the city will be closed July 3, a Monday, for the July 4 weekend. The new board will have its first meeting July 5.

Two members of the Board of Mayor and Aldermen were re-elected to their seats while a third is taking the oath as an alderman for the first time.

Flaggs begins his second term as mayor after winning a landslide victory in the June 6 general election defeating two independent opponents. North Ward Alderman Michael Mayfield begins his fourth term on the board, after winning re-election by defeating independent candidate Troy Kimble by 150 votes in the general election.

South Ward Alderman-elect Alex Monsour is beginning his first term in that seat, after defeating Willis Thompson by eight votes. He is the state representative from District 54.

About John Surratt

John Surratt is a graduate of Louisiana State University with a degree in general studies. He has worked as an editor, reporter and photographer for newspapers in Louisiana, Mississippi and Alabama. He has been a member of The Vicksburg Post staff since 2011 and covers city government. He and his wife attend St. Paul Catholic Church and he is a member of the Port City Kiwanis Club.

email author More by John