Clinton’s Washington wins Gatorade award

Published 9:02 am Friday, June 23, 2017

For the second time in her high school career, Clinton High School sprinter Demi Washington has won the Gatorade Mississippi Girls Track and Field Athlete of the Year Award.

Washington won the Class 6A championship in the 100 meters this season with a time of 11.56 seconds, the 200 meters in 23.87 seconds, and was second in the long jump with a leap of 17 feet, 11 inches.

Washington also won the Gatorade award as a freshman in 2014, and finished her high school career as a four-time state champion in the 100 meters and a three-time champion in the 200.

With Washington leading the way, the Lady Arrows totaled 123 points and won the Class 6A team championship.

Demi Washington

“Demi’s drive for excellence is immeasurable,” Clinton coach Johnathan Perkins said in a release. “One look at her high school career confirms that. She’s a seven-time state champion.”

Washington’s teammate Monica Mosley won the Gatorade award in 2015 and 2016.

The Gatorade Boys Track and Field Athlete of the Year Award went to Strayhorn High School sprinter Cameron Crump.

The junior won four gold medals at the Class 2A state meet this season, in the 100 meters (10.69 seconds), 200 meters (21.9 seconds), 400 meters (50.03 seconds) and long jump (22 feet, 9 inches).

Crump’s selection ends a string of three consecutive boys winners from Vicksburg. Vicksburg High’s Terrell Smith won the award in 2014, and St. Aloysius’ DeMichael Harris in 2015 and 2016.

The Gatorade Athlete of the Year Award has been handed out each year since 1985 and recognizes the top athlete in each state in track and field, cross country, basketball, soccer and baseball. It is generally viewed as the state’s player of the year award.