Vicksburg celebrates a successful Miss Mississippi Pageant for the 60th year

Published 12:22 am Saturday, June 24, 2017

The 2017 Miss Mississippi will be crowned Saturday night following three nights of preliminary competition and Saturday’s finale.

Congratulations to the 44 contestants who spent months preparing for this week who then went out and put on a fantastic show, and thank you to the Vicksburg Convention Center for putting on a great event once again.

This year marked the 60th anniversary of the crowning taking place in Vicksburg and the staff at the Vicksburg Convention Center showed time and time again why the pageant returns every year.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am

They worked all week to make sure the pageant was a seamless operation for the contestants and audience. The sold out crowd has been treated to a great show each night of the competition.

The 44 contestants dazzled the audience throughout the competition with their poise in the evening gown phase and their skills in the talent portion.

Miss America 1980 Cheryl Prewitt Salem has been an incredible host throughout the week. The contestants have been the stars of the show, but there have been moments each night when she has stolen the spotlight for herself with stories and well timed humor. Prewitt Salem has set a high standard for hosts in the future.

Saturday also marks the end of the reign for 2016 Miss Mississippi Laura Lee Lewis. Her talent was on full display throughout the competition as she served as the main entertainment in the show.

Congratulations on a great year.

Whoever earns the crown Saturday night will join a sisterhood that has been on full display during this year’s anniversary show. Former Miss Mississippis have returned to take part in the show and welcome the newest member to the group of Forever Miss Mississippis.

Good luck to all those competition in the finale.