The right choices were made for the EDF board

Published 7:11 pm Friday, November 22, 2019

Last week, the Economic Development Foundation, one part of the three organizations that make up the Vicksburg Warren Economic Partnership, selected four new members to the board; but they are by no means inexperienced.

According to The Partnership’s website, “The Vicksburg Warren Economic Development Foundation is a 501 (c) 6 private membership organization that focuses on bringing together the business community to support economic development long-term strategic planning, develop funding, and provide expertise in the development of sound local and regional policies to advance economic development and prosperity in the region.” 

In short, it is part of the engine — along with the Vicksburg Warren Chamber of Commerce and the Warren County Port Commission — that drives economic development in Vicksburg and Warren County.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am

Those individuals selected to either 2- or 3-year terms to the board were current Warren County Port Commission Chair Margaret Gilmer, fellow Port Commission member Austin Golding, former Vicksburg Warren Chamber of Commerce Chair and Chick-fil-A franchisee Nick Jones and Trustmark President Ryan Lee. An impressive list to say the list.

In selecting these four, the EDF further solidified its re-emergence over the past few years under Director Pablo Diaz and recent EDF Chair Dr. Jeff Holland, who was forced to resign from the board because he was elected by voters in District 4 to the Warren County Board of Supervisors. The sitting vice-chair of the EDF board, Kelle Barfield, was also forced to resign for the same reason, now elected to the Board of Supervisors to represent District 5.

These board members are progressive in nature, focused on their vision for Vicksburg and Warren County and passionate about the ongoing development of our community and its economy.

They join a board made up of similar-minded residents, who have the best interests in mind for our community and who each have stepped up to do their part.

We congratulate those selected to the EDF board and wish them, and their fellow board members, the very best as they work for Vicksburg and Warren County.