Elections Saturday in two Tensas towns

Published 12:00 am Friday, October 6, 2000

Two towns in Tensas Parish will hold primary elections for city positions Saturday.

In St. Joseph and Newellton, candidates who win their party’s nomination in the 14 primary races will be unopposed on the Nov. 7 ballot. The polls will be open from 6 a.m. until 8 p.m.

St. Joseph Mayor Whitfield Jones, a Democrat, will face fellow Democrat Edward L. Brown for the party’s nomination. The winner will be unopposed in the general election.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

In the District D Alderman’s race, incumbent Thelma A. Bradford, a Democrat, will face Democrat Richard L. Townsend.

In other St. Joseph elections, District A Alderman “Buddy” Tindell, a Democrat; District B Alderman Jack M. Grace Jr., a Democrat; District C Alderman Jimmy S. Clark, a Democrat; and District E Alderman Craig Neuroth, a Republican, are all running unopposed Saturday and in the general election.

Newellton Mayor Edwin G. Preis, a Democrat, is opposed on Saturday’s ballot by fellow Democrats Alex Davis and F. A. “Coonie” McVay.

Also trying to hold on to his position, will be Newellton Chief of Police John Black, a Democrat. He will face Democrats Johnny Gales and Robert South in the primary election.

Newellton District 1 Alderman Kenneth Morgan, a Democrat, will face Democrat Denise Cooper. District 2 Alderman Edwin Britt, a Republican, will square off against fellow Republican Jeri Hargon. District 3 Alderman Glen McCarty, a Democrat, will face Rick Weatherford, a Republican, and Billy Mitchell Jr., a Democrat.

Unopposed in Newellton races are District 4 Alderman Clara T. Bass, a Democrat, and District 5 Alderman David W. Delaney, a Republican.

Marie D. Bachus, a Democrat, is also running unopposed for a spot on the school board in District 7.