10 interview for constable job

Published 10:30 am Tuesday, December 31, 2013

Supervisors got a closer look at the applicants for the vacant job of constable of Warren County Monday morning.

Of the dozen that applied, 10 were interviewed Monday by the five-member Board of Supervisors in hopes of replacing six-year incumbent Randy Naylor, who died Nov. 7.

“This is the best group of qualified applicants we have had,” said Richard George, district 5 supervisor.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Applications arrived in the chancery clerk’s office Dec. 6, but the election commission determined two lived outside the district. The interviews were delayed to allow candidates to work around current work schedules and the holidays.

All of the applicants were asked about their background, experience and why they wanted to be appointed constable.

The supervisors’ choice will hold the seat until Nov. 4, 2014, when a special election for the office will be held alongside races for federal and local judicial offices.

The winner of the special election may run for the seat again when it appears in the 2015 county and state election cycle.

Constables primarily serve justice court and other legal papers, but also have general law-enforcement powers. They are paid $35 for each paper served.

The Secretary of State’s Office told the county in November that elections are to be held under district lines adopted in 2012 that reflect population changes in the 2010 census.

The district covers central Vicksburg, in areas between Culkin Road and Interstate 20, Old Highway 27, Mississippi 27, and parts of the Chicasaw, Kings and Ford subdivisions on the northern end of the city.


• David W. Adams

• Joseph P. Bell

• Jake Coffie

• Reggie Flaggs

• Mario Grady

• Troy Kimble

• Kelvin D. Mixon

• Linda Stevens

• Douglas Stewart

• Roy Tillman