Betty Margaret Prewitt

Published 11:00 am Friday, March 7, 2014

Betty Margaret Prewitt died Tuesday, March 4, 2014, at her home.  She was 89.
Born in Vicksburg, Mrs. Prewitt was the daughter of the late George Wallace Marsalis and Willie Cauthon Marsalis. She was a graduate of Carr Central High School in the Class of 1942, where she played first chair clarinet in the band and was a drum majorette.
After graduation, she decided to serve her county instead of attending college and was employed by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in Vicksburg, later moving to New Orleans, where she served in the Engineer Communication Division.  Mrs. Prewitt was responsible for notifying surrounding engineer offices and the Vicksburg District of the death of President Franklin D. Roosevelt.
Returning to Vicksburg, she was active in the community serving as president of the Vicksburg Country Club Women’s Auxiliary, president of the Town and Country Garden Club and participated in numerous bridge clubs.  In later years, she owned and operated the Bug’s Ear Gift Shop on Belmont Street. Mrs. Prewitt was of the Baptist faith.
She is survived by two daughters, Betty Penley (Buck) of Vicksburg and Saralie Johnson (Ricky) of Vicksburg; two sons, John Prewitt Jr of Vicksburg and Mark Prewitt of Ridgeland; nine grandchildren, Shelly Abernathy, Kacey Gaia, Richard Johnson, Ryan Johnson, Russell Johnson, Jennifer Penley, Jason Penley, Jordan Penley and James Penley; 10 great grandchildren, Logan Horton, Gage Horton, Andrew Abernathy, Jacob Abernathy, Madeleine Gaia, Jack Gaia, Wes Gaia, Max Johnson, Tate Johnson and Eloise Johnson.
Mrs. Prewitt was predeceased by her husband of 46 years, Judge John W. Prewitt Sr., and a sister, Nina Marsalis.
Services will be 11 a.m. Saturday, March 8, 2014, at Riles Funeral Home with Dr. John Robert Ford officiating. Burial will be in Greenlawn Gardens Cemetery.  Visitation will be at the funeral home from 10 a.m. until the service.
The family wishes to thank the nurses of the second floor outpatient services of River Region Medical Center; the staff and nurses of Mission Primary Care and Tracey Penley of Hospice Advantage.
Pallbearers will be James Penley, Richard Johnson, Ryan Johnson, Russell Johnson, Steven Gaia and Minor Ferris.
Honorary Pallbearers will be Kathy Conway, Keith Kellum, D. P. Waring, Jr., Bobby Hannon, Kayo Dottley, Dean Andrews, Billy Heard, Vicki Williamson, Daria Hood, Susan Mims and Zanetta Eatmon.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month