Anthony “Bill” Thomas

Published 10:20 am Friday, June 13, 2014

Anthony “Bill” Thomas, 91 of Vicksburg, MS, died Thursday, June 12, 2014 at St. Dominic Hospital in Jackson, MS.

Mr. Thomas was born January 4, 1923 to James A. Thomas and Mabel Hilderbrand Thomas in Vicksburg.
He was a graduate of Jett High School, Southern Business College, and attended Hinds Jr. College. He received a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration from Mississippi College. He was a veteran of World War II, serving in the Army.
Mr. Thomas retired form Marathon-LeTourneau with 45 years of service. He was past president of the Jackson Chapter of the National Association of Accountants and was past treasurer of Marathon Ship Builders.
He was a devoted member of Immanuel Baptist Church, where he served as past deacon and Sunday School teacher, trustee and treasurer.
In addition to his parents, he was preceded in death by three brothers; James Thomas, Woodrow Thomas, and Otha Ray Thomas; four sisters; Lionel Elmore, Lila Zook, Pauline Rule, and Lois Simrall.
Survivors include his wife of 61 years, Anna Jo Thomas of Vicksburg; sons, Benjie Thomas (Sandy) and Marshall Thomas (Joy), both of Vicksburg, a daughter, Tabitha Clifton (Lonnie) of Ridgeland; five grandsons: Andrew Thomas (Lisa), Aaron Thomas, Alexander Thomas, Jacob Thomas, and Cameron Clifton, two grandaughters: Sarah Clifton and Faith Thomas, and several nieces, nephews, and many friends. Funeral services will be held Saturday, June 24 at 10 a.m. at Immanuel Baptist Church in Vicksburg with Rev. Billy Brumfield officiating. Burial will be in Hilderbrand Cemetery.

Visitation will be held on Friday, June 13 from 5 to 7 p.m. at Frank J. Fisher Funeral Home and 9a.m. Saturday until the hour of service at Immanuel Baptist Church .

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Pallbearers will be Andrew Thomas, Aaron Thomas, Alexander Thomas, Jacob Thomas, Cameron Clifton, Franklin Hicks, Phillip Jones, Jr., and Charles Rule.
Honorary pallbearers will be James Joyner, Bob Gordon, Jack Tillotson, Jonah Ray Jones, and all active and inactive deacons of Immanuel Baptist Church.