Election qualifying heads into final week

Published 12:18 am Sunday, February 22, 2015

An incumbent constable’s intended return and a change of address for a justice court candidate rounded out a slow next-to-last week for qualifying for this year’s local elections. 

Central District Constable Troy Kimble filed papers Thursday to run for a full term for the office that serves justice court summonses. Kimble won the job in a special election last year held due to the death of former constable Randy Naylor.

Other incumbents who’ve qualified ahead of this Friday’s deadline without opposition so far include Tax Collector Antonia Flaggs Jones, Chancery Clerk Donna Hardy, Tax Assessor Angela Brown, Coroner Doug Huskey, County Prosecutor Ricky Johnson, District 2 Supervisor William Banks, District 5 Supervisor Richard George, District Attorney Ricky Smith, justice court judges Eddie Woods, Jeff Crevitt and James Jefferson and constables Glenn McKay and John Heggins. As of the close of business at the courthouse Friday, the lone other challenger in a race besides county supervisor is Henry Phillips, who has filed to run against Jefferson.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Phillips filed a second set of signatures to reflect a change of address on his part, Election Commission chair Sara Carlson Dionne said. Candidates for justice court judge must live in the county for two years but do not have to live inside the district in which they seek the office.

Party primaries are Aug. 4 and the general election is Nov. 3.

Contested races on the Warren County Board of Supervisors are shaping up in Districts 1 and 3.

Two Republicans are challenging incumbent John Arnold for the District 1 seat, Steven Houston and Johnny Beauchamp. One independent, Edward Herring, has filed to run for the seat.

In District 3, school board member James Stirgus Jr challenges five-term incumbent Charles Selmon for the third time in as many elections. Both are Democrats on this year’s primary ballot.

In the Legislature, incumbent state representatives Alex Monsour and Oscar Denton have qualified in the Republican and Democratic primaries, respectively, as has Republican state Sen. Briggs Hopson III.

Denton is opposed for the Democratic nod by Arrick R. Rice, an employee of W.H. Jefferson Funeral Home. Denton won the District 55 seat in a 2013 special election to succeed current Vicksburg Mayor George Flaggs Jr.

One of two statewide incumbents with Vicksburg connections has a primary challenger.

Insurance Commissioner Mike Chaney is opposed in the Republican primary by John Mosley, owner of Clinton Body Shop. Chaney, a state legislator in Vicksburg for 15 years, was elected to his current office in 2007. Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann, a Vicksburg native, had not filed papers through Friday.