ERDC’s Holland snags top civilian honor

Published 12:00 am Sunday, March 22, 2015

The U.S. Army Engineer Research and Development Center’s civilian director has added another award to a long list of accolades.

Dr. Jeffery P. Holland was named the winner earlier this month of the Distinguished Executive, Presidential Rank Award, according to a news release from ERDC. It represents the highest honor for members of the federal government’s Senior Executive Service.

Holland, director and chief scientist of the Halls Ferry Road research facility since 2009, was among three in the Corps to receive the award this year and among eight winners in the Army overall, the release said. The honor is given to no more than 1 percent of SES members each year.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

“I am very pleased to win this award,” said Holland. “But my opportunity to win is a reflection of the extraordinary ERDC team and its work in support of the nation and its military. I am very blessed to win this award – but I am even more blessed to lead ERDC.”

Members of the SES serve in positions just below those appointed by the president. The classification was created in 1979 and includes senior level employees above the GS-15 level of the general personnel schedule and below Level III of the executive schedule, the latter of which includes various undersecretaries of the Cabinet departments.

Prior to leading the center, he served three years as its deputy director, assisting in management efforts. He also spent time as the director of ERDC’s Information Technology Laboratory, where he oversaw multifaceted technological infrastructure and execution of a broad research and development and operational program.

Earlier this year, he was appointed to the Mississippi College Board of Trustees and in 2013 was elected to the Mississippi Research Consortium Advisory Board. In 2008, Holland won the Meritorious Executive Presidential Rank Award, given each year to more than 5 percent of SES members.

His past honors include the 2014 Federal Laboratory Consortium Director of the Year Award, the Silver Order of the de Fleury Medal, the Alcorn State University Presidential Citation for Excellence, the Army Meritorious Civilian Service Award and the Bronze Order of the de Fleury Medal.