Clinton QB Cam Akers wins ‘Mr. Football’ in 6A

Published 12:11 pm Friday, November 11, 2016

Clinton quarterback Cam Akers was one of six players selected as Mississippi’s “Mr. Football” Thursday by the Mississippi High School Activities Association.

One player from each of the state’s six classifications received the honor. It’s the inaugural season for the award, which was chosen by a panel of the state’s media and coaches. The award was started through a partnership of the MHSAA, Mississippi Association of Coaches, and the New Orleans Saints.

Akers was Class 6A’s Mr. Football. The five-star recruit has thrown for 2,343 yards and 25 touchdowns, with only four interceptions this season while leading Clinton to a 10-1 record and the Region 2-6A championship.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Akers is a four-year starter and is widely considered the state’s top recruit. He has not committed to a college yet. In addition to his prolific passing stats, Akers has run for 1,312 yards and 21 touchdowns. He’s had at least 200 yards passing and 100 yard rushing in a game five times this season.

For his career, Akers has thrown for 7,355 yards and 72 touchdowns, while rushing for 4,310 yards and 58 touchdowns.

Other winners were Nanih Waiya running back and cornerback Chris Smith in Class 1A; Pisgah running back and safety Don Ragsdale in 2A; Morton quarterback D.D. Bowie in 3A; St. Stanislaus quarterback Myles Brennan in Class 4A; and Hattiesburg wide receiver Jordan Murphy in 5A.

Smith, a 5-foot-10, 180-pound junior, has totaled 1,544 all-purpose yards and scored 30 touchdowns for Nanih Waiya (11-1).

Ragsdale, who is only a junior, has rushed for 3,081 yards and 39 touchdowns for Pisgah (9-3).
Bowie, who played both quarterback and receiver, has accounted for 2,664 yards and 40 touchdowns. He has committed to Ole Miss.

Brennan set the Mississippi state record for career passing yardage with 14,733 yards and counting. He threw for 549 yards and eight touchdowns in a 70-50 win over East Central on Oct. 14, and has only thrown one interception in 363 pass attempts this season. He has committed to LSU.

Murphy, a Tennessee commit, has 70 receptions for 1,556 yards and 20 touchdowns this season. He has three 200-yard receiving games, and seven games with multiple touchdown receptions.

The six Mr. Football winners will be honored at a banquet in Starkville on Dec. 1, ahead of the MHSAA state championship games that weekend at Mississippi State.