Democratic nominations in mayor, North Ward alderman up for grabs

Published 9:31 am Tuesday, May 2, 2017

City voters head to the polls Tuesday to cast ballots in four elections to select the Democratic Party nominees for Vicksburg Mayor, North and South Ward Alderman and representatives the county’s Democratic Executive Committee.

Vicksburg Election Commission chairman Clyde Redmon said the polls are open until 7 p.m., “And any voter in line by 7 p.m. will be allowed to vote; we’re going to have some good weather for an election.”

He said power has been restored to the Kings Community Center precinct. The center was one of the buildings left without power when a storm front passed through the area Sunday knocking out power to the Kings community and other areas on North Washington Street.

Redmon said voters going to the polls will have to provide an acceptable ID when they register to vote.

According to the Mississippi Secretary of State’s website, an acceptable ID is a photo ID such as a driver’s license, photo ID card issued by a branch, department, or division of the State of Mississippi, United States passport, a government employee ID card, firearms license or a student photo ID issued by an accredited Mississippi university, college, or community/junior college.

Three candidates are seeking the Democratic nomination for mayor, incumbent George Flaggs Jr., District 3 Warren County Supervisor Charles Selmon and Mitchell Dent, a former Vicksburg police chief and deputy chief. The winner will face independent candidates Darryl Hollingsworth, Jennifer Thomas and Willie Robinson, in the general election June 6.

Two candidates, incumbent Michael Mayfield and assistant city clerk John Carroll, are seeking the Democratic nomination for North Ward Alderman. The winner will face former Vicksburg police investigator Troy Kimble June 6.

South Ward Alderman Willis Thompson is unopposed in the Democratic primary for South Ward Alderman, and will face District 54 State Rep. Alex Monsour June 6. Monsour is the only Republican running for office.

Besides the municipal primary, voters are also asked to vote for three members to the county Democratic Party Executive Committee. There are three candidates on the ballot: Mary Ruth Galtney, Audrey Jones-Jackson and Linda M. Stevens.

Depending on where they live, voters will cast their ballots at one of the city’s 11 precincts — six in the North Ward and five in the South:

4 North Ward: Vicksburg Auditorium, 901 Monroe St.; Cedar Grove at the Rolling Hills Community Center, 131 Elizabeth Circle; Spring Hill M.B. Church, 815 Mission 66; American Legion Post 3, 1712 Monroe St.; Vicksburg Junior High School, located at Warren Central Junior High School, 1630 Rosa A. Temple Blvd. (Baldwin Ferry Road); and Kings Community Empowerment Center gym, 224 R L Chase Circle.

4 South Ward: Vicksburg High School Armory, 1000 Lee St.; Elks Lodge, 1366 U.S. 61 South; Plumbers and Pipefitters Union Hall, 3203 N. Frontage Road; No. 5 Fire Station, 5885 U.S. 61 South; and Porters Chapel Methodist Church, 200 Porters Chapel Road.

About John Surratt

John Surratt is a graduate of Louisiana State University with a degree in general studies. He has worked as an editor, reporter and photographer for newspapers in Louisiana, Mississippi and Alabama. He has been a member of The Vicksburg Post staff since 2011 and covers city government. He and his wife attend St. Paul Catholic Church and he is a member of the Port City Kiwanis Club.

email author More by John