Jesse Marvin Regan

Published 9:21 pm Friday, September 8, 2017

PORT GIBSON — Jesse Marvin Regan died Thursday, Sept. 7, 2017, at Belmont Gardens in Vicksburg.

He was born on April 30, 1927, in Claiborne County (Rocky Springs). He proudly served in the U.S. Navy for 35-plus years, having attained the rank of senior chief petty officer and served our country proudly during World War II and the Korean War. 

He was then employed by LeTourneau and later retired from the Waterways Experiment Station as a tool and die maker.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

He was a farmer, tree farmer and an avid gardener and enjoyed traveling with the WBCCI, the Air Stream Travel Club, for 25 years.

He was a member of the Rocky Springs Methodist Church until it disbanded, and currently was a member of the Cayuga United Methodist Church.

Survivors include his wife of 70 years, Jane R. Regan of Vicksburg; three daughters, Nancy (Robert) Munroe of Jackson, Linda Regan Creamer and Dr. Teresa Regan both of Chattanooga, Tenn.; his special friend Sue Roberson of Chattanooga, Tenn.; and his beloved and faithful dog Scout; two sisters, Alice Regan Wheeler of Vicksburg and Mary Ruth Regan (Leon) Price of Bossier City, La.; six grandchildren, Rachael Middleton (Bill) Moormann, David Marvin (Emily) Middleton, Amanda Middleton (Dax) Howard, Jessica Munroe (Charly) Balzi, Robert C. Munroe III and Russell Donnelly (Elizabeth) Munroe and 10 great-grandchildren and one great-great-grandson.

Funeral services will be 10 a.m. Saturday in the chapel of Glenwood Funeral Home in Vicksburg with the Rev. George McFarland officiating.

Visitation will be from 9 a.m. Saturday until the hour of the service. Interment will follow at Wintergreen Cemetery in Port Gibson.

Pallbearers will be Russell Munroe, Dave Middleton, George Wall, Woodrow Wilson, Harold Neely, George Cranfield, Robert Murphree and Jesse Middleton.

Honorary pallbearers will be Wiley Pritchard and Blake Middleton.