Absentee voting in Dist. 54 race underway

Published 11:20 pm Friday, September 29, 2017

Absentee voting is underway through Nov. 4 for the special election to fill the unexpired term of former District 54 Rep. Alex Monsour, who resigned his seat after being elected South Ward Alderman for Vicksburg.

The special election is Nov. 7. People wishing to vote absentee can vote at the Warren County Circuit Clerk’s office during the week from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Oct. 7 and 28 and Nov. 4 from 8 a.m. to noon.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

“Oct. 7 is also the final day for people to register to vote for the Nov. 7 election,” Circuit Clerk Jan Daigre said. “So we will be open that day from 8 a.m. to noon for absentee voting and voter registration.”

Three people have qualified for Monsour’s seat —Vicksburg contractor Joe Bonelli, family practitioner and addiction medicine specialist Dr. Randy Easterling, and Kevin Ford, owner of the Ford Insurance Agency.

Monsour, a Republican, resigned his seat in the Mississippi House July 5, about a month after defeating then-incumbent South Ward Alderman Willis Thompson in the June 6 municipal general elections.

His resignation came after a state Attorney General’s opinion said he could no longer serve as District 54 representative because under the city’s special charter the aldermen had administrative as well as legislative responsibilities.

Prior to winning the alderman’s seat, he had served in the Legislature for 10 years.

District 54 covers part of Vicksburg and the northern and eastern areas of Warren County, and a portion of the northwest part of the county.

The following precincts are included in the House District: all of the Bovina, Culkin, Oak Ridge, and Redwood precincts, portions of the Cedar Grove and Kings precincts and all of precinct 3-61, part of Vicksburg Junior High School, all of the Beechwood and Plumbers and Pipefitters precincts, and part of the Tingleville precinct.

Anyone with questions about whether they can vote in the election can call the Warren County Election Commission at 601-638-8875, or the circuit clerk’s office at 601-636-3961.

About John Surratt

John Surratt is a graduate of Louisiana State University with a degree in general studies. He has worked as an editor, reporter and photographer for newspapers in Louisiana, Mississippi and Alabama. He has been a member of The Vicksburg Post staff since 2011 and covers city government. He and his wife attend St. Paul Catholic Church and he is a member of the Port City Kiwanis Club.

email author More by John