Cast a ballot in special election if qualified

Published 8:00 pm Saturday, November 25, 2017

Two very qualified individuals, Dr. Randy Easterling and Kevin Ford, are seeking the unexpired District 54 seat of Alex Monsour in the Mississippi House of Representatives in Tuesday’s special election runoff.

District 54 covers part of Vicksburg and the northern and eastern areas of Warren County, and a portion of the northwest part of the county as well as Yazoo and Issaquena counties.

Ford and Easterling advanced to a runoff after no candidate received at least 50 percent of the vote in the special election Nov. 6. Joe Bonelli finished third in the race and didn’t advance to the runoff.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

If you are a registered voter and live within the area that includes District 54, we strongly encourage you to cast a ballot.

Anyone with questions about whether they can vote in the election can call the Warren County Election Commission at 601-638-8875, or the circuit clerk’s office at 601-636-3961.