Absentee voting for general election now underway

Published 6:08 pm Tuesday, September 25, 2018

People who plan to cast an absentee ballot in the Nov. 6 general election have until Nov. 3 to do so at the Warren County Circuit Clerk’s office, which is located on the second floor of the Warren County Courthouse on Cherry Street.

Absentee voting began Monday, according to Circuit Clerk Jan Hyland Daigre.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

“People have to state a reason why they’re voting absentee,” Daigre said.

Some of those who are eligible include those registered voters 65 and older, college students living out of town, military personnel and their families and if someone will be out of town the day of the election.

Daigre said people wanting to vote absentee can come by the Circuit Clerk’s office Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., but can also cast an absentee ballot on Saturdays, Oct. 6, Oct. 27 and Nov. 3 from 8 a.m. to noon.

Meanwhile, those who have not registered for the general election have until Oct. 8.

Daigre reminds residents there are a couple things they need to keep in mind when registering.

“If you have not had a chance to register or move your registration from a prior area, you can go on the Secretary of State website Y’all Vote and they will send me an electronic notification and you will be ready to vote in the next election,” Daigre said.

Warren County Election Commission Chairman and District 4 Commissioner Sara Carlson Dionne also reminds voters to notify the election commission if you have moved so they can update their voter rolls by filling out a voter information change form.

“We must receive the form by Oct. 15, to make changes before the general election,” Dionne said. “In November, we want to make sure the poll workers can find you on their poll books.”

The form can be obtained by visiting online: co.warren.ms.us/circuit-clerk, or going to the circuit clerk’s office on the second floor of the Warren County Courthouse, 1009 Cherry Street.

Locally, the general election will be held for the following offices:

•U.S. Senate

•U.S. Representative

•Court of Appeals Judge

•Chancery Court Judge

•Circuit Court Judge

•Districts 1 and 2/Juvenile Court Judge

•VWSD Trustee, District 2

A special election will also be on the ballot:

•U.S. Congress (vacated by Thad Cochran)

•Constable, Central District

•District 85 House Seat

America “Chuck” Middleton (D-Port Gibson) resigned his District 85 seat Aug. 31, having served since 1995. The district includes Claiborne, Franklin, Jefferson and Warren counties.

Mississippians will vote in both U.S. Senate races — a regular election and a special election — for the first time in a decade.

In the regular election, Republican incumbent Roger Wicker will face Democrat David Baria, Libertarian Danny Bedwell and Reform Party candidate Shawn O’Hara. Wicker has served in the Senate since late 2007.

In the special election to replace now retired longtime Sen. Thad Cochran, Senate candidates will run without party labels. The candidates include Tobey Bernard Bartee, Mike Espy, Chris McDaniel and Cindy Hyde-Smith, who was appointed temporarily by Republican Gov. Phil Bryant following Cochran’s retirement in April.