Alcorn State racks up on SWAC awards list

Published 7:55 am Friday, November 30, 2018

Alcorn State was the frontrunner all season in the Southwestern Athletic Conference, and on its awards list at the end as well.

Alcorn quarterback Noah Johnson was named the SWAC’s Offensive Player of the Year on Thursday, while Fred McNair reeled in the Coach of the Year award. The duo led the Braves to an 8-3 record and their fifth consecutive East Division championship.

Alcorn will play Southern University in the SWAC championship game Saturday at 3:30 p.m. at Jack Spinks Stadium in Lorman.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Alcorn running back De’Shawn Waller was the league’s Newcomer of the Year. The Braves put 10 players on the All-SWAC first team, their most since 1977.

Alcorn won three individual awards (Coach, Offensive and Newcomer) in the same season for the first time since 1992 when Steve McNair won Offensive, Marcus Hinton won Newcomer and Marino Casem won Coach of the Year.

McNair, who is in his third season, is the first Coach of the Year winner at Alcorn since Cardell Jones in 1992.

Along with Johnson and Waller on the All-SWAC first team were offensive linemen Chris McCrea, Kevin Hall and Mustaffa Ibrahim; defensive linemen Terry Whittington and Sterling Shippy; linebacker Solomon Muhammad; and defensive backs Javen Morrison and Qwynnterrio Cole.

Alcorn was represented on the second team by offensive lineman Deonte Brooks and tight end Jaquaveon Boles.

Johnson has thrown for 1,944 yards and 15 touchdowns, and rushed for 813 yards and seven touchdowns. He ranks seventh in the country in yards per carry (7.13) and 13th in completion percentage (63.4).

In just three seasons, Johnson ranks eighth all-time in Alcorn history in career touchdown passes (30), 11th in passing yards (3,845) and is approaching the all-time list in rushing yards (1,600). The Tampa, Florida native is a finalist for the Walter Payton Award that goes to the best player in the Football Championship Subdivision.

Waller, a native of Atlanta, earned his way into a starting role after beginning the season as the No. 3 running back on the depth chart. He leads the team in rushing with 871 yards and nine touchdowns, and has rushed for at least 100 yards in five of the last six games.

Mississippi Valley State’s Booker Chambers made the All-SWAC first team as a return specialist, and the second team as a wide receiver.

Chambers had 914 combined rushing and receiving yards and seven touchdowns, and returned two punts for touchdowns.

All-SWAC team
Individual awards

Offensive Player of the Year – Noah Johnson, QB, Alcorn St.
Defensive Player of the Year – De’Arius Christmas, LB, Grambling
Newcomer of the Year – De’Shawn Waller, RB, Alcorn St.
Coach of the Year – Fred McNair, Alcorn St.
First team

QB – Noah Johnson, Alcorn St. St.
RB – Taeyler Porter, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
RB – De’Shawn Waller, Alcorn St.
OL – Chris McCrea, Alcorn St.
OL – Tytus Howard, Alabama St.
OL – Mustaffa Ibrahim, Alcorn St.
OL – Jodeci Harris, Southern
OL – Kevin Hall, Alcorn St.
WR – Bobby Hartzog, Texas Southern
WR – Dejuan Miller, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
TE – Zarrian Holcombe, Prairie View A&M
K – Jamie Gillan, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
P- Jamie Gillan, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
RS – Booker Chambers, Mississippi Valley St.
Second team
QB – Aqeel Glass, Alabama A&M
RB – Dawonya Tucker, Prairie View A&M
RB – Trevon Walters, Alabama A&M
OL – Christian Rice, Prairie View A&M
OL – David Aduo, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
OL – Deonte Brooks, Alcorn St.
OL – DeJohn Jones, Prairie View A&M
OL – Jaylon Brinson, Southern
WR – Booker Chambers, Mississippi Valley St.
WR – Tristan Wallace, Prairie View A&M
TE – Jaquaveon Boles, Alcorn St.
K – Christian Jacquemin, Jackson St.
P – Anthony Craven, Alabama St.
RS – Ezra Gray, Alabama St.
First team

DL – Terry Whittington, Alcorn St.
DL – Sterling Shippy, Alcorn St.
DL – Jalen Steward, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
DL – Yurik Bethune, Alabama A&M
LB – De’Arius Christmas, Grambling
LB – Armoni Holloway, Alabama A&M
LB – Solomon Muhammad, Alcorn St.
DB – Javen Morrison, Alcorn St.
DB – Qwynnterrio Cole, Alcorn St.
DB – Joseph McWilliams, Grambling
DB – Ju’Anthony Parker, Prairie View A&M
Second team
DL – Quinton Bell, Prairie View A&M
DL – Willie Green, Prairie View A&M
DL – Anferenee Mullins, Grambling
DL – Malik Hamner, Jackson St.
LB – Darron Johnson, Alabama St.
LB – Je’Kevin Carter, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
LB – Sean Jones, Texas Southern
DB – Percy Cargo, Grambling
DB – Will Skinner, Prairie View A&M
DB – Dylan Hamilton, Alabama A&M
DB – Kurron Ramsey, Alabama St.