Ole Miss lineman, Vicksburg native Brown on Freshman All-SEC team

Published 7:55 am Friday, December 7, 2018

BIRMINGHAM — Oftentimes, an offensive lineman is mostly noticed when he allows a sack or gets called for a penalty.

Ben Brown did not do the former this season, and rarely did the latter. As a result, he’s getting a different kind of recognition.

The Ole Miss guard and former St. Aloysius star was named to the Southeastern Conference All-Freshman team, the league office announced on Thursday.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Brown, a redshirt freshman, was one of only three freshmen in the country to start every game at right guard. He didn’t allow a sack all season in 446 pass blocks.

He was part of an Ole Miss line that helped protect one of the top offensive units in the country. Ole Miss ranks ninth in the country in total offense and fifth in passing yards.

Brown — who moved to guard after playing tackle in high school — was a key anchor on the right side of the line that paved the way for Scottie Phillips, who ranks second in the SEC with 14 total touchdowns.
Brown joined linebacker Jacquez Jones as Ole Miss’ representatives on the All-Freshman team.

Jones appeared in every game this season as a true freshman. The Tuscaloosa, Alabama, native tallied 36 total tackles, including 2.5 tackles for a loss. He had a game-high nine tackles vs. top-ranked Alabama on Sept. 15 in his third collegiate game.

No Mississippi State players made the All-Freshman team. Georgia had five selections, while Texas A&M and Alabama both four each.


TE – Daniel Parker, Missouri
OL – Isaiah Wilson, Georgia
OL – Cade Mays, Georgia
OL – Dylan Wonnum, South Carolina
OL – Ben Brown, Ole Miss
WR – Jaylen Waddle, Alabama
WR – Seth Williams, Auburn
QB – Justin Fields, Georgia
RB – JaTarvious Whitlow, Auburn
RB – Tyler Badie, Missouri
RB – JaShaun Corbin, Texas A&M
All-purpose – JaShaun Corbin, Texas A&M
DL – Jordan Davis, Georgia
DL – Phidarian Mathis, Alabama
DL – Bobby Brown, Texas A&M
DL – Tyree Johnson, Texas A&M
LB – Jacquez Jones, Ole Miss
LB – Dimitri Moore, Vanderbilt
LB – Eyabi Anoma, Alabama
LB – DeAndre Square, Kentucky
DB – Patrick Surtain II, Alabama
DB – Bryce Thompson, Tennessee
DB – Jaycee Horn, South Carolina
DB – Trey Dean III, Florida
Special teams
PK – Seth Small, Texas A&M
P – Jake Camarda, Georgia
RS – JaShaun Corbin, Texas A&M