Constables qualify for re-election

Published 8:00 pm Saturday, January 19, 2019

All three incumbent Warren County constables have filed their paperwork to run in Warren County’s August primary election.

Warren County Circuit Clerk Jan Hyland Daigre said Friday that incumbent constables Glenn McKay, Troy Kimble and John Heggins have filed qualifying papers with the circuit clerk’s office.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

McKay is constable for the county’s Northern District, while Kimble is constable of the Central District and Heggins is Southern District Constable.

Coroner Doug Huskey has also filed qualifying papers seeking re-election.

Ben Luckett, a Republican, will seek re-election as Warren County tax assessor. He was first elected to office in 2015.

Incumbent Warren County Tax Collector Antonia Flaggs-Jones will also seek re-election after filing qualifying papers with the circuit clerk’s office.

So far, only incumbents have filed the necessary paperwork seeking public office in Warren County.

Warren County Board of Supervisors William Banks and John Carlisle both filed qualifying papers with the circuit clerk’s office two weeks ago. Banks, Supervisor in District 2, filed as a Democrat, while Carlisle, Supervisor in District 4, filed as a Republican.

Banks was first elected as District 2 Supervisor in 2005, while Carlisle was first elected in 2015.

Eddie Woods, Justice Court Judge for the Northern District, also filed his paperwork seeking re-election.

Ricky Johnson, the incumbent Warren County Prosecuting Attorney, filed as an Independent in his bid for re-election.

Daigre and incumbent Chancery Clerk Donna Farris Hardy both filed their paperwork  the first week of qualifying seeking re-election.

Candidates have until 5 p.m. March 1 to file their qualifying paperwork.

Candidate information and forms are available on the Secretary of State’s website or at the Circuit Clerk’s Office.

Primary elections will be held Aug. 6, with a runoff set for Aug. 27, if necessary. The general election will be held Nov. 5 and the possible runoff Nov. 26.