Mississippi State players win Howell, Gillom Trophies

Published 4:51 pm Monday, March 11, 2019

JACKSON — When it came time to select the top college basketball players in Mississippi this season, the Bulldogs were best.

Mississippi State players Quinndary Weatherspoon and Teaira McCowan won the 2019 C Spire Howell and Gillom Trophies on Monday as the most outstanding men’s and women’s college basketball players in Mississippi, respectively.

Weatherspoon won the Howell Trophy for the second year in a row. The senior guard is tied for second in the Southeastern Conference in scoring, at 18.5 points per game. He’s also averaging 4.9 rebounds per game, is fourth in the SEC in field goal percentage (50.5), sixth in steals (1.6), and in the top 10 in 3-point and free throw percentage.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Breein Tyree of Ole Miss won the fan voting for the Howell Trophy in a close vote, but Weatherspoon took home the award thanks to strong support from the media voters. The fan vote counts for 10 percent of the total votes. Tyree was tied with Weatherspoon for second in the SEC scoring race.

Southern Miss guard Cortez Edwards was the other finalist.

Weatherspoon is the SEC’s active leading scorer and is third on Mississippi State’s career scoring list with 1,956 points. He has reached double figures in 28 of 31 games this season, fueled by eight of his 15 outings of 20-plus points since the start of February.

He’ll lead the Bulldogs into the SEC Tournament later this week. They’ll play either Vanderbilt or Texas A&M on Thursday night.

“I think he has just worked very hard,” Mississippi State men’s coach Ben Howland said. “He didn’t miss a day working on his shooting, ever. It’s incredible, his work ethic and how hard he works. He’s one of those guys as a senior, that’s how you expect a senior to play. We’re so proud of him winning the Howell Award for the second year in a row.”

McCowan, meanwhile, is the fifth straight Mississippi State player to win the Gillom Trophy. The previous four were all won by Victoria Vivians, who McCowan finished second to last season.

McCowan has been the driving force behind the Lady Bulldogs winning both the SEC regular season and tournament championships. They wrapped up the latter with a 101-70 rout of Arkansas on Sunday.

The Lady Bulldogs will be either a No. 1 or No. 2 seed in the NCAA Tournament that begins next week.

McCowan was the SEC Tournament MVP, Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year. She is a finalist for the Wooden Award and Senior CLASS Award this year and remains on the watch lists for the Wade Trophy, Wooden Award and Lisa Leslie Award, given to the nation’s top center. She is also in the running for the Naismith Defensive Player of the Year after winning the inaugural award last season.

McCowan is averaging 17.8 points and 13.5 rebounds per game. She posted 27 double-doubles this year and holds the MSU record with 66 for her career. She also boasts MSU’s career wins record (129) and career rebounds record (1,447).

McCowan’s teammates Jordan Danberry and Anriel Howard were the other two finalists for this year’s Gillom Trophy.

“We don’t apologize for being demanding, in the classroom, the community and on the court,” Mississippi State coach Vic Schaefer said. “I’m awfully proud of T. She’s been locked in for the last month and she’s playing at a really high level right now. She’s dominating the game really. She commands so much attention on both ends. Forget about how many shots she blocks. Think about the ones that don’t even get taken or are altered.”

Howell Trophy winners
2019 – Quinndary Weatherspoon, Mississippi State
2018 – Quinndary Weatherspoon, Mississippi State
2017 – Sebastian Saiz, Ole Miss
2016 – Stefan Moody, Ole Miss
2015 – Stefan Moody, Ole Miss
2014 – Jarvis Summers, Ole Miss
2013 – Marshall Henderson, Ole Miss
2012 – Arnett Moultrie, Mississippi State
2011 – Gary Flowers, Southern Miss
2010 – Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State
2009 – Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State
2008 – Jamont Gordon, Mississippi State
2007 – Trey Johnson, Jackson State
2006 – Jasper Johnson, Delta State
2005 – Lawrence Roberts, Mississippi State
Gillom Trophy winners
2018 – Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State
2018 – Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State
2017 – Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State
2016 – Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State
2015 – Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State
2014 – Jamierra Faulkner, Southern Miss
2013 – Martha Alwal, Mississippi State
2012 – Veronica Walker, Delta State
2011 – Veronica Walker, Delta State
2010 – Alexis Rack, Mississippi State
2009 – Alexis Rack, Mississippi State
2008 – Jennifer Rushing, Delta State