Borrowed money will pay for dozens of Mississippi projects

Published 4:39 pm Thursday, March 28, 2019

The Mississippi Legislature is planning to borrow $207 million under Senate Bill 3065 to pay for various projects, part of more than $360 million in borrowing. In other bills, the state plans to borrow $45 million for Ingalls Shipbuilding in Pascagoula, $12.5 million for a home for medically fragile children in Jackson, $8 million for water and sewage projects, $3.5 million for a road in Meridian and $86 million for economic development programs run by the Mississippi Development Authority.

Here’s a look at projects in Senate Bill 3065:

Alcorn State University: $6.3 million

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Alcorn State agriculture division $720,000

Delta State University: $7.3 million

Jackson State University: $6.7 million

Mississippi State University: $10.3 million

Mississippi State University agriculture, forestry and veterinary medicine: $8 million

Mississippi University for Women: $6.6 million

Mississippi Valley State University: $6.3 million

University of Mississippi: $5.3 million

University of Mississippi Medical Center: $12 million

University of Southern Mississippi: $13.3 million

University of Southern Mississippi Gulf Coast campuses: $1.7 million

College Board Education and Research Center: $690,000

Department of Corrections: $4 million

Department of Finance and Administration: $11.4 million

Department of Mental Health: $4 million

Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks dams: $4 million

Mississippi Fair Commission: $2 million

Mississippi Military Department: $2 million

State Fire Academy: $11 million

Coahoma Community College: $1.2 million

Copiah-Lincoln Community College: $1.4 million

East Central Community College: $1.3 million

East Mississippi Community College: $1.5 million

Hinds Community College: $2.8 million

Holmes Community College: $1.9 million

Itawamba Community College: $1.8 million

Jones County Junior College: $1.7 million

Meridian Community College: $1.4 million

Mississippi Delta Community College: $1.3 million

Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College: $2.4 million

Northeast Mississippi Community College: $1.4 million

Northwest Mississippi Community College: $2.1 million

Pearl River Community College: $1.6 million

Southwest Mississippi Community College: $1.2 million

Mississippi Aquarium at Gulfport: $4 million

Workforce training center in Batesville: $2 million

Port Bienville dredging/Buccaneer Park improvements: $1 million

Grand Gulf road repair: $500,000

Street improvements near Keesler Air Force Base in Biloxi: $5 million

Mississippi Center for Innovations and Technology in Vicksburg: $2.5 million

Northeast Mississippi regional wastewater treatment project in Lee County: $2 million

Harrison County veterans affairs hospital: $16 million

Local and rural water system revolving loan and grant fund: $1 million

Scenic Rivers Development Alliance improvements at regional parks: $750,000

Scenic Rivers Development Alliance Lake Okhissa land acquisition: $750,000

Watershed repair and rehabilitation: $3 million

Mississippi Community Heritage Preservation grant fund: $4.2 million

Columbus City Hall renovation: $450,000

Tate County Courthouse restoration: $400,000

Small municipalities and limited populations counties infrastructure: $5 million

Gunter Road extension in Rankin County: $1 million

Laurel drainage improvements: $1 million

Leonard Clark Road improvements in Perry County: $500,000

Sumrall recreational facilities: $2 million

Newton City Hall repair and renovation: $1 million

Copiah County Airport improvements: $60,000

Caledonia park improvements: $50,000

Noxapater road improvements: $50,000

French Camp sewer system improvements: $50,000

West Marion High School bus route improvements: $50,000

Noxubee County courthouse improvements: $65,000

Jesse Harper Road/Interstate 20 north frontage road flood reduction in Clinton: $75,000

Choctaw County road improvement: $100,000

Eupora access road: $100,000

Long Beach cemetery repair and improvement: $100,000

Ackerman road improvements: $200,000

McAlister Road improvement in Monroe County: $200,000

Mississippi Children’s Museum improvements: $185,000

Harrison County Law Enforcement Training Academy improvements: $250,000

Itawamba County Boat Ramp Road bridge repair: $250,000

Wesson police station repair: $300,000

Quitman County sewer infrastructure: $300,000

Kosciusko courthouse square repaving: $365,000

Bruce water system improvements: $300,000

Pearl River Valley Water Supply District dam safety studies: $350,000

Ocean Springs water and sewer system improvements: $400,000

Leake County courthouse repair: $400,000

Pontotoc sewer system improvements: $400,000

Chickasaw Heritage Center construction in Tupelo: $50,000