Burnice Absolom Trevilion Jr.

Published 7:18 pm Friday, June 28, 2019

Burnice Absolom Trevilion Jr. died Friday, June 28, 2019, at his home in Port Gibson. He was 81.

Burnice was a lifelong resident of Port Gibson. He graduated from Port Gibson High School, where he excelled in track, football and baseball.

He played football for the University of Mississippi. 

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

After recovering from a football injury, he played football for CopiahLincoln Community College, where he met his wife of almost 61 years (July 6th). 

In his later years, he loved officiating at track meets at the local and state levels. 

He retired from National Plastics in Port Gibson as shipping supervisor after 40 years.

He lived for hunting deer and turkey. He also loved to carry his wife and three children on fishing outings.

He was a member and deacon of Stepping Stone Baptist Church.

He was preceded in death by his son, Mark Absolom Trevilion, in 2012.

He is survived by his wife, Mary Evelyn Trevilion of Port Gibson; son, Timothy W. Trevilion of Port Gibson; daughter, Leah T. Ross (Bud) of Mize; daughter-in-law Wendy Trevilion of Vicksburg; sister, Linda T. Rummells (Doug) of Learned; stepbrother, John Lindsay Torrey of Port Gibson; stepsister, Judy Abrams (Craig) of Aiken, S.C.; granddaughters, Athena Chapin, Amber Ross, Sara Kennedy and Crystal Bufkin; and 10 great-grandchildren.

A funeral service will be noon Monday, July 1, 2019, at First Presbyterian Church of Port Gibson. The Rev. Mark Dearman, Rev. Michael Herrin and Rev. Joe Metts will officiate the service.

Visitation will be from 4 to 6 p.m. Sunday, June 30, at Guion-Glenwood Funeral Home, and from 10 a.m. until the hour of the service Monday at the church. 

Burial will follow at Wintergreen Cemetery in Port Gibson.

Pallbearers will be Ken McLemore, Perc McCaa, Ronnie Hynum, Neil Wood, Gerald Ashley, A.K. Jones, Terry Myles, Phil Pinix, Jim Cassell, Jr. and Thomas Lutz. 

Honorary pallbearers will be Roy Starnes, Edward Bryant, Ralph Emfinger, Sr., Franklin Gunn, Pete Guido, Jeff Roberts, Frank Davis and Chris Dunn.