Warren County included in agriculture natural disaster area

Published 3:37 pm Thursday, September 5, 2019

Warren County is among 45 Mississippi counties named Thursday by Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue as a primary natural disaster area.

The designation is for producers who suffered losses caused by the combined effects of freeze, excessive rainfall, flooding and flash flooding that occurred from Jan. 15 and continuing. Producers in those counties could be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency emergency loans.

Farmers qualifying for emergency loans may borrow up to 100 percent of their actual production loss or the amount needed to restore their operation to its pre-disaster condition, whichever is less, or refinance certain debts.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

The counties included in the designation are Adams, Alcorn, Benton, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Claiborne, Clay, Covington, Forrest, Grenada, Harrison, Holmes, Humphreys, Issaquena, Itawamba, Jefferson, Lamar, Lee, Leflore, Lowndes, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Oktibbeha, Pearl River, Perry, Pontotoc, Sharkey, Stone, Tippah, Tishomingo, Tunica, Union, Walthall, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Wilkinson, Winston, Yalobusha and Yazoo counties.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is April 7, 2020.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs.

Additional information is also available online at https://www.farmers.gov/recover.