Vicksburg’s Pettway to be inducted into Ole Miss’ M-Club Hall of Fame

Published 8:00 am Sunday, September 15, 2019

OXFORD — Vicksburg native Brian Pettway was among five sports legends elected to the Ole Miss M-Club Hall of Fame, the school announced Friday.

Pettway, a star baseball player for the Rebels from 2003 to 2005, will join football and baseball player Senquez Golson; track and field and cross country runner Barnabas Kirui; women’s tennis player Mira-Lorelei Radu; and fellow baseball player Seth Smith as 2019 inductees.

The M-Club is an athletics chapter of the Ole Miss Alumni Association. The Hall of Fame induction ceremony is Sept. 20 at 6 p.m. at the Inn at Ole Miss in Oxford.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Pettway starred at Warren Central and helped the Vikings win the 2001 MHSAA Class 5A championship before going on to excel at Ole Miss. He set Ole Miss records with 102 hits and 184 total bases in 2005, tied the single-season home run record with 21, and had the longest hitting streak in school history at 28 games.

Pettway won the 2005 Ferriss Trophy as the top college baseball player in Mississippi. The same year, he was picked in the third round of the MLB draft by the Toronto Blue Jays. He spent three years in the Blue Jays’ minor league system before retiring from baseball.