Vicksburg puts 15 players on All-Region 2-5A football team

Published 6:24 pm Friday, November 22, 2019

The Vicksburg Gators missed the playoffs this season, but hit the mark when it came time to pick the All-Region 2-5A team.

Seven Vicksburg players were selected to either the first or second team, and eight others made the honorable mention list.

Running back Cedric Phillips, defensive lineman Shar’dez Taylor and linebacker Marvin Martin all made the first team. On the second team were defensive back Laurence Sullivan, defensive lineman Marquise Blackmore, offensive lineman Michael Montgomery and wide receiver De’Andre McCalpin.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Phillips was the first Vicksburg High player to rush for more than 1,000 yards since 2011. He finished with 1,231 yards — the third-best total in Region 2-5A — and 10 touchdowns. He also caught 20 passes for 162 yards and a TD while playing most of the season with a broken finger.

Martin led the Gators with 80 tackles, including six sacks and 14 tackles for loss. He also forced five fumbles.

Taylor played on both the offensive and defensive lines. He finished with 32 tackles, one sack and two forced fumbles.

Montgomery and Blackmore were also two-way players on the line. Sullivan had 60 tackles and a team-high three interceptions.

McCalpin was second on the team with 31 receptions for 398 yards and four touchdowns.

Vicksburg’s players on the honorable mention list were linebackers Christopher Henderson and Eric Wesley; defensive lineman DeShawn Douglas; offensive lineman Joshua Jones; tight end Zyon Scott; wide receiver Keveon Smith; quarterback Sha’Kori Regan; and kicker Chris Williams.

About Ernest Bowker

Ernest Bowker is The Vicksburg Post's sports editor. He has been a member of The Vicksburg Post's sports staff since 1998, making him one of the longest-tenured reporters in the paper's 140-year history. The New Jersey native is a graduate of LSU. In his career, he has won more than 50 awards from the Mississippi Press Association and Associated Press for his coverage of local sports in Vicksburg.

email author More by Ernest