• 70°

Talladega, Atlanta to host NASCAR races in June

NASCAR announced the next phase of its revamped 2020 schedule on Thursday, with races at five tracks that had events canceled earlier this season because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

NASCAR will hold a total of 13 races across its top three series at Bristol (May 30-31), Atlanta (June 6-7), Martinsville (June 10), Miami-Homestead (June 13-14), and Talladega (June 20-21).

There are four Cup Series races on Sundays, and the second-tier Xfinity Series on Saturdays as the sport moves back to more traditional race weekends.

There is one midweek race on the schedule, Wednesday, June 10 at Martinsville. It will be a primetime race, with a 6 p.m. start.

The schedule also includes a doubleheader weekend in the Xfinity Series at Miami on June 13 and 14. The June 13 race was moved to Miami from Iowa Speedway.

The Talladega weekend features races in the ARCA and Xfinity series on June 20, and a 500-mile Cup Series race on June 21.

The Gander Trucks Series will have two races, June 6 at Atlanta and June 13 at Homestead.
All of the races will be run without fans in attendance. The remainder of the adjusted schedule for all NASCAR series will be announced at a later date, the sanctioning body said in a release.

NASCAR is scheduled to resume racing this weekend at Darlington, with Cup Series races Sunday and May 20. That will be followed by two Cup Series races at Charlotte on May 24 and 27.

To accommodate the new dates, NASCAR announced the postponement of events at Kansas Speedway (May 30-31) and Michigan International Speedway (June 5-7), as well as an Xfinity race at Mid-Ohio on May 30 and a Trucks Series race at Texas Motor Speedway on June 5.

Races at Sonoma, Richmond and Chicagoland had previously been reassigned to other tracks as NASCAR shuffles its schedule in the wake of nationwide shutdowns caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

2020 NASCAR SCHEDULE
DATE TRACK SERIES TV/TIME

Sun, May 17…….Darlington………..Cup…….Fox/2:30 p.m.
Tue, May 19…….Darlington………..Xfinity…FS1/7 p.m.
Wed, May 20…….Darlington………..Cup…….FS1/6:30 p.m.
Sun, May 24…….Charlotte…………Cup……..Fox/5 p.m.
Mon, May 25…….Charlotte……..Xfinity……..FS1/6:30 p.m.
Tue, May 26…….Charlotte …….Gander Trucks…FS1 /7 p.m.
Wed, May 27…….Charlotte……..Cup………….FS1/7 p.m.
Sat, May 30…….Bristol………..Xfinity…..FS1/2:30 p.m.
Sun, May 31…….Bristol………..Cup ……..FS1/2:30 p.m.
Sat, June 6……..Atlanta……….Gander Trucks……..FS1/Noon
Sat, June 6…….Atlanta………..Xfinity…….Fox/3:30 p.m.
Sun, June 7…….Atlanta ……….Cup ……….Fox/2 p.m.
Wed,June 10…….Martinsville……Cup………..FS1/6 p.m.
Sat, June 13…….Miami………..Gander Trucks..FS1/11:30 a.m.
Sat, June 13…….Miami………..Xfinity……..Fox/2:30 p.m.
Sun, June 14…….Miami………..Xfinity……..FS1/11 a.m.
Sun, June 14…….Miami………..Cup……..Fox/2:30 p.m.
Sat, June 20…….Talladega…….ARCA…….FS1/1 p.m.
Sat, June 20…….Talladega…….Xfinity….FS1/4:30 p.m.
Sun, June 21…….Talladega…….Cup……..Fox/2 p.m.