Greatest on the Gridiron: ’14 St. Aloysius vs. ’93 Vicksburg

Published 5:05 pm Sunday, July 5, 2020

Just before exiting the MHSAA for the MAIS, St. Aloysius fielded one of the county’s best teams of the 21st century so far.

The 2014 Flashes finished 13-2, with both losses coming at the hands of archrival Cathedral — in the season opener, and the MHSAA Class 1A championship game. The Flashes won 13 in a row and beat all comers in between.

Despite playing in the MHSAA’s smallest classification, the 2014 Flashes had big-time talent. Offensive lineman Drake Dorbeck and running back DeMichael Harris both went on to star at Southern Miss and are currently on NFL rosters. Two other linemen, Josh Price and Ben Brown, as well as kicker Casey Griffith, all played Division I football. Brown is currently a starting offensive lineman at Ole Miss.

(4) 2014 St. Aloysius vs. (5) 1993 Vicksburg

  • 1993 Vicksburg (55%, 135 Votes)
  • 2014 St. Aloysius (45%, 112 Votes)

Total Voters: 247

Loading ... Loading ...

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

The 1993 Vicksburg Gators did not accomplish quite as much as some of their early 90s predecessors in the postseason, but still rank among the county’s best.

With future NFL defensive lineman Michael Myers leading the way, the ‘93 Gators started 10-0 and wound up winning a school-record 11 games before losing 17-14 to Clinton in the second round of the MHSAA Class 5A playoffs. The defense posted four shutouts and held three other opponents to less than 10 points.

Vicksburg finished 11-2 in 1993, with its only two losses coming to Clinton and Warren Central — which both advanced to the Class 5A semifinals.

About Ernest Bowker

Ernest Bowker is The Vicksburg Post's sports editor. He has been a member of The Vicksburg Post's sports staff since 1998, making him one of the longest-tenured reporters in the paper's 140-year history. The New Jersey native is a graduate of LSU. In his career, he has won more than 50 awards from the Mississippi Press Association and Associated Press for his coverage of local sports in Vicksburg.

email author More by Ernest