• 61°

Greatest on the Gridiron: ’58 St. Aloysius vs. ’81 St. Aloysius

The second big upset in the Eagles Region came from the seventh-seeded 1981 St. Aloysius Flashes, who beat No. 2 seed 1969 Temple — an undefeated state champion often ranked among the best ever — by a score of 81-70.

The ‘81 Flashes posted five shutouts during a nine-game winning streak to start their season, won the Class B, District 6 championship, and reached the Class B championship game.

(3) 1958 St. Aloysius vs. (7) 1981 St. Aloysius

  • 1981 St. Aloysius (67%, 71 Votes)
  • 1958 St. Aloysius (33%, 35 Votes)

Total Voters: 106

Loading ... Loading ...

Their opponents in Round 2 of the Greatest tournament is the 1958 St. Aloysius squad, which advanced with a 30-19 in the opener.

Led by the running back tandem of George Evans and Eddie Habert — who combined to score 61 touchdowns in their high school careers — the ‘58 Flashes posted the school’s third undefeated season in four years. After two close wins over Lexington and Mendenhall to start the season, they had an average margin of victory of 28.5 points over their last six games.

It’s St. Al vs. St. Al again in the Sweet 16. Make your vote count this week in the Greatest on the Gridiron tournament!