Reeves places stricter COVID-19 guidelines on 10 additional counties, including Sharkey County

Published 9:46 am Monday, July 20, 2020

An order placing stricter COVID-19 restrictions on 13 Mississippi counties was extended Monday by Gov. Tate Reeves, who added an additional 10 counties to the order.

Bolivar, Covington, Forrest, Humphreys, Panola, Sharkey, Simpson, Tallahatchie, Tate and Walthall counties were added to the order on Monday. They join Claiborne, DeSoto, Grenada, Harrison, Hinds, Jackson, Jefferson, Madison, Quitment, Rankin, Sunflower, Washington and Wayne counties, which were listed last week.

“COVID-19 is spreading and killing in our state. It is not a hypothetical, it is happening. Today, I’ve extended our executive orders to mitigate the threat — adding 10 counties to the list of those with stricter measures in place,” Reeves said.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

The executive orders require a mask or face covering in public and place additional limits on social gathering sizes.

In all businesses:

• All employees are required to keep at least 6 feet from other employees or wear a face mask.

• All employees must be screened at the beginning of their shift.

In retail businesses:

• Employees in contact with the public must wear a face covering.

• Members of the public must wear a face covering at all times.

Gatherings and events:

• Social gatherings are limited to 10 individuals indoors and 20 outdoors, and a distance of at least 6 feet between individuals must be maintained.

• A distance of 6 feet or more must be maintained between others at all public events, indoors and out, or else face coverings must be worn.

Reeves is expected to discuss his new orders during his M0nday press conference that begins at 2:30 p.m.