• 57°

Voting in the Greatest on the Gridiron tournament still open

The Elite Eight round of the Vicksburg Post’s “Greatest on the Gridiron” tournament is entering the fourth quarter.

Nearly 600 votes have been cast so far in the four quarterfinal matchups, and approximately 3,500 in the tournament thus far as we try to crown Warren County’s best-ever high school football team.

Voting will remain open until noon on Thursday at vicksburgpost.com, and paper ballots can be dropped off at The Vicksburg Post’s office at 1106 Washington Street.

The winners of the quarterfinals will advance to the Final Four, for which voting will begin next week. Here are the quarterfinal matchups:

• 2001 Vicksburg vs. 1978 Vicksburg — Two generations of Gators, and perhaps two underrated teams that both came tantalizingly close to a state championship.

(3) 2001 Vicksburg vs. (5) 1978 Vicksburg

  • 2001 Vicksburg (68%, 149 Votes)
  • 1978 Vicksburg (32%, 71 Votes)

Total Voters: 220

Loading ... Loading ...

• 1973 Vicksburg vs. 1990 Vicksburg — Another Gator vs. Gator showdown. The ’73 team won the Big 8 championship in the school’s first year of existence. The 1990 squad is best remembered for its fearsome “Swamp Thing” defense that held seven opponents to one touchdown or less.

(1) 1973 Vicksburg vs. (2) 1990 Vicksburg

  • 1990 Vicksburg (52%, 254 Votes)
  • 1973 Vicksburg (48%, 233 Votes)

Total Voters: 487

Loading ... Loading ...

• 1970 Temple vs. 1966 Temple — An old school showdown of Buccaneers. The 1966 Temple team started the school’s dynasty by going undefeated and winning the Black Big 8 championship. The ’70 squad finished it with a victory in the Red Carpet Bowl that marked the program’s 39th consecutive game without a loss.

(1) 1970 Temple vs. (3) 1966 Temple

  • 1970 Temple (62%, 103 Votes)
  • 1966 Temple (38%, 64 Votes)

Total Voters: 167

Loading ... Loading ...

• 2005 Porter’s Chapel vs. 1981 St. Aloysius — The 1981 St. Aloysius Flashes allowed 29 points in their first nine games and reached the MHSAA Class B championship game. The 2005 Porter’s Chapel Eagles allowed 30 points in 12 games and reached the MPSA Class A semifinals. Two great defenses, one tough choice.

(4) 2005 Porter's Chapel vs. (7) 1981 St. Aloysius

  • 1981 St. Aloysius (59%, 136 Votes)
  • 2005 Porter's Chapel (41%, 93 Votes)

Total Voters: 229

Loading ... Loading ...

Vote for the winners at vicksburgpost.com.

About Ernest Bowker

Ernest Bowker is The Vicksburg Post's sports editor. He has been a member of The Vicksburg Post's sports staff since 1998, making him one of the longest-tenured sports reporters in the paper's 137-year history. The New Jersey native is a graduate of LSU. In his career, he has won more than 50 awards from the Mississippi Press Association and Associated Press for his coverage of local sports in Vicksburg.

email author More by Ernest