Greatest on the gridiron: ’01 Vicksburg vs. ’90 Vicksburg

Published 9:02 am Saturday, July 25, 2020

The first Greatest on the Gridiron semifinal pits two great Vicksburg High teams, 10 years apart, for a spot in the championship game.

Although separated by a decade, the two teams share some similarities.

Both of them won 10 games and reached the MHSAA Class 5A semifinals, where they lost close games. Both had strong, balanced offenses featuring multiple running backs, and both featured a dominating player named Taylor on defense — Ronnie in 1990, and D’Eldrick in 2001; both were The Vicksburg Post Defensive Player of the Year in their respective seasons.

(3) 2001 Vicksburg vs. (2) 1990 Vicksburg

  • 1990 Vicksburg (52%, 256 Votes)
  • 2001 Vicksburg (48%, 238 Votes)

Total Voters: 494

Loading ... Loading ...

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Both teams also ended playoff losing streaks for the program with their deep runs, and flew under the radar a bit during the season.

The 1990 Gators, which featured the “Swamp Thing” defense, started off 5-0 and then slipped to a No. 12 ranking in the state after losing two of three games in the middle of the season. They still won the Region 2-5A championship and beat top-ranked Starkville in the playoffs.

The 2001 Gators, meanwhile, won four in a row late in the season, lost to Warren Central in the regular-season finale, and then beat Columbus and Region 2-5A champion Madison Central in the playoffs.

Which flavor of Gator do you prefer? Twentieth century or 21st? Swamp Thing or New Thing?
Vote in the Greatest on the Gridiron poll to send one of them on to the championship game!

About Ernest Bowker

Ernest Bowker is The Vicksburg Post's sports editor. He has been a member of The Vicksburg Post's sports staff since 1998, making him one of the longest-tenured reporters in the paper's 140-year history. The New Jersey native is a graduate of LSU. In his career, he has won more than 50 awards from the Mississippi Press Association and Associated Press for his coverage of local sports in Vicksburg.

email author More by Ernest