Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame announces Class of 2021

Published 7:50 am Wednesday, October 28, 2020

JACKSON — The Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum announced its next group of inductees on Tuesday.

The Class of 2021 includes former Delta State women’s basketball star Debbie Brock; NBA stars Lindsey Hunter and Erick Dampier; Ole Miss and NFL football player Terrence Metcalf; professional tennis player Dave Randall; and golf icon Randy Watkins.

Brock, a Jackson native, was the point guard for three consecutive AIAW national championship teams at Delta State.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Hunter starred at Jackson State and Dampier at Mississippi State before playing a combined 33 seasons and 1,934 games in the NBA.

Metcalf, a Clarksdale native, was an All-Ameican offensive lineman at Ole Miss. He played nine seasons in the NFL from 2002-08 with the Chicago Bears, and started for them in their Super XLI loss to the Indianapolis Colts.

Randall was a three-time state tennis champion at Tupelo High School, later was an All-American at Ole Miss, and then played 11 years as a professional on the ATP Tour.

Watkins won the 1977 National Junior Golf Championship, played briefly on the PGA Tour, and today owns and operates three golf clubs in the Jackson Metro area.

About Ernest Bowker

Ernest Bowker is The Vicksburg Post's sports editor. He has been a member of The Vicksburg Post's sports staff since 1998, making him one of the longest-tenured reporters in the paper's 140-year history. The New Jersey native is a graduate of LSU. In his career, he has won more than 50 awards from the Mississippi Press Association and Associated Press for his coverage of local sports in Vicksburg.

email author More by Ernest