USDA Designates Six Mississippi Counties as a Primary Natural Disaster Area from March 22 Tornado

Published 11:33 am Wednesday, May 25, 2022

U.S. Department of Agriculture Administrator Zach Ducheneaux designated six counties in the State of Mississippi as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Attala, Harrison, Hinds, Holmes, Madison and Pearl River counties who suffered physical damage and losses caused by a tornado, high winds, lightning and excessive rain that occurred March 22, 2022, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous Mississippi counties of Carroll, Choctaw, Claiborne, Copiah, Forrest, Hancock, Humphreys, Jackson, Lamar, Leake, Leflore, Marion, Montgomery, Neshoba, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Stone, Warren, Winston and Yazoo are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Jan. 13, 2023.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender.