ELECTION TRACKER: Here’s the final list of candidates for Warren County Offices

Published 5:20 pm Wednesday, February 1, 2023

The deadline to submit qualifying documents to run for county or state office in Mississippi came at 5 p.m. Wednesday.

Candidates who filed for election in 2023 are listed below:

Board of Supervisors

  • Edward Herring, District 1 (Republican)
  • David Allen Pugh, District 1 (Republican)*
  • Stan Collins, District 1 (Independent)*
  • Joe Channell, District 1 (Independent)*
  • William Banks, District 2 (Democratic)
  • Michael Gates, District 2 (Democratic)*
  • Shawn Jackson, District 3 (Democratic)
  • Eros J. Smith, District 3 (Democratic)*
  • Jeffery Pack Holland, District 4 (Independent)
  • John Carlisle, District 4 (Independent)*
  • Kelle Barfield, District 5 (Independent)
  • John Michael Allen, District 5 (Republican)*

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month


  • Troy Kimble, Central District (Independent)
  • John Heggins, Southern District, (Independent)
  • Glenn McKay, Northern District (Independent)


  • Jeff Riggs (Independent)*
  • Martin Pace (Independent)

Justice Court Judge

  • James E. Jefferson Jr., Central District (Democratic)
  • Jeffrey Crevitt, Southern District (Independent)
  • Randy Lewis, Northern District (Independent)


  • Doug Huskey (Independent)

Warren County Election Commission

  • Sara Carlson Dionne, District 4 (Independent)
  • Danielle Pooney Chin, District 2 (Independent)*
  • Bobbie Bingham Morrow, District 2 (Independent)

Other County Offices

  • Jan Hyland Daigre, Circuit Clerk (Republican)
  • Beverly Johnson, Chancery Clerk (Republican)
  • Ben Luckett, Tax Assessor (Republican)
  • Tracie Herring, County Prosecutor (Independent)*
  • Stephen L. McMillin, County Prosecutor (Republican)*
  • Christopher Green, County Prosecutor (Democrat)*
  • Amanda Battle, Tax Collector (Democrat)*
  • Pam Durman, Tax Collector (Democrat)*

State Offices

  • Kevin Ford, House District 54 (Warren, Yazoo and Issaquena), Republican
  • Briggs Hopson III, Senate District 23 (Warren, Yazoo and Issaquena), Republican
  • Oscar Denton, House District 55 (Warren), Democrat
  • Ricky Smith Jr., District Attorney



For those choosing to run with the Democratic or Republican parties, the primary elections are on Aug. 8, 2023. If runoffs are necessary, they will be on Aug. 29.

The General Election is on Nov. 7.

Mississippi state statute requires a majority (50 percent plus one) of votes to win statewide or state district offices. Senate and House seats are not included in this new law. If a runoff is needed for those offices, that will take place on Nov. 28.