Porter’s Chapel Academy athletic awards

Published 4:11 pm Thursday, May 25, 2023

Porter’s Chapel Academy Athletic Awards
Annual awards
Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Tiara Sims
Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Lawson Selby
Female Athlete of the Year – Tiara Sims
Male Athlete of the Year – Daniel Llopis
Bubba Mims Memorial Scholarship – Lawson Selby
Miles Hallberg Memorial Scholarship – Maureon Simms

MVP – Marley Bufkin
Golden Glove – Emily Phillipson
Best Offense – Marley Bufkin and Natalie Cantin
Rookie of the Year – Mia Abdo and Emily Muirhead Softball Miss Hustle – Emily Muirhead
Eagle Award – Sophie Masterson

Junior varsity
MVP – Emily Muirhead
Best Offense – Audrey Carraway
Golden Glove – Emily Muirhead
Most Improved – Kyleigh Hearn
Eagle Award – Kendall Smith

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Varsity girls
MVP – Tiara Sims
Best Offense – Anjel Walton
Best Defense/Rebounder – Hannah Handerson
All-Around/Hustle Award – Marley Bufkin
Best 3-Point Shooter – Sophie Masterson

Junior high girls
Eagle Award – Emily Muirhead
Eagle Award – Mia Abdo
Eagle Award – Audrey Carraway
Eagle Award – Alexis Whittington
Eagle Award – Hadleigh Slayton
Eagle Award – Hannah Wilson
Eagle Award – Kendall Smith
Eagle Award – Michaela Chambliss

Varsity boys
MVP – Lawson Selby
Best Offense – Ty Mack
Most Assists – Noah Porter
Best Rebounder – Chase Hearn
Most Versatile – Jase Jung
All-Around/Hustle Award – Taylor LaBarre
Leadership Award – Maureon Simms
Eagle Award – Gavin White

Junior high boys
Eagle Award – Corvin Finch
Eagle Award – Grayson Price
Eagle Award – Coltin Hancock
Eagle Award – Clayton McClure
Eagle Award – Zach Ross
Eagle Award – JR Brumfield
Eagle Award – Ryan LaBarre
Eagle Award – Wyatt Mullinax
Eagle Award – Will Lancaster

Cheerleader of the Year – Taylor Palmer
Best Backspot – Chelsea Fuller
Best Base – Peyton Combs
Best Flyer – Jessa Hubbard
Eagle Award – Sarah Felker

Junior varsity
Cheerleader of the Year – Alexis Whittington
Most Improved – Charlee Bass
Best Flyer – Neelie Alexander
Best Base – Kinsley Rogers

Golden Helmet Maureon Simms
Offensive MVP John Wyatt Massey
Defensive MVP Jase Jung
Best Offensive Lineman Conley Johnston
Best Defensive Lineman – Zach Ashley
Best Running Back – Ty Mack
Best Linebacker – Hayden Beard
Best Wide Receiver – Taylor LaBarre
Defensive Back – Gavin Pugh
Special Teams MVP – Daniel Llopis
Most Versatile – Jase Jung
Most Improved – Hunter Simms
Newcomer of the Year – Ty Mack
Eagle Award – Henry Slayton/Madelyn Whitehead
Coaches Award – Thomas Azlin

Junior high
MVP – Chad Fuson
Defensive MVP – Lakelan Pecanty
Best Lineman – CJ Koestler
Eagle Award – Coltin Hancock/Clayton McClure
Most Versatile – Carson Hays/Grayson Price
Coaches Award – Landon Fuson

MVP – Nick Neihaus
Track and field

High school girls
MVP Marley Bufkin
Top Thrower – Madelyn Whitehead
Eagle Award – Hadleigh Slayton
Top Runner – Ansley Conway

Junior high girls
MVP – Audrey Carraway
Top Runner – Ansley Conway
Top Distance Runner – Hadleigh Slayton
Top Field Event – Mia Abdo
Top Thrower – Kendall Smith
Eagle Award – Alexis Whittington
Eagle Award – Kyleigh Hearn

High school boys
MVP – Daniel Llopis
Field Event MVP – Jase Jung
Top Distance Runner – Nick Neihaus
Eagle Award – Lakelan Pecanty
Most Versatile – Henry Slayton
Top Thrower – Conley Johnston
Top Runner – Taylor LaBarre

Junior high boys
MVP – Lakelan Pecanty
Top Field Event – Lakelan Pecanty
Top Distance Runner – Silas Hall
Eagle Award – Carson Hays
Top Runner – Jayden Wright

Pitcher Award – Gage Palmer
Pitcher Award – Zach Ashley
Defense Award – Thomas Azlin
Defense Award – Gavin Pugh
Offense Award – John Wyatt Massey
Offense Award – Chase Hearn
Coaches Award – Taylor LaBarre
Coaches Award – Brayden King
Eagle Award – Gavin White
Golden Glove Award – Lawson Selby

Junior varsity
Defensive Award – Coltin Hancock
Love of the Game Award – Clayton McClure
Team Pride Award – Grayson Price
Coaches Award – Lakelan Pecanty
Pitching Award – Chad Fuson
Eagle Award – Ryan LaBarre
Most Improved – Jayden Wright

About Ernest Bowker

Ernest Bowker is The Vicksburg Post's sports editor. He has been a member of The Vicksburg Post's sports staff since 1998, making him one of the longest-tenured reporters in the paper's 140-year history. The New Jersey native is a graduate of LSU. In his career, he has won more than 50 awards from the Mississippi Press Association and Associated Press for his coverage of local sports in Vicksburg.

email author More by Ernest