LSU crushes Florida to win College World Series championship

Published 11:11 pm Monday, June 26, 2023

OMAHA, Neb. (AP) — LSU went from its low point of the season to the ultimate high in a span of 24 hours.

A day after it gave up the most runs ever in a College World Series game, LSU cranked up its offense and won its first national title since 2009 with an 18-4 victory over Florida on Monday night in the third and deciding game of the finals.

LSU (54-17) staved off elimination three times in bracket play and bounced back from the humiliating 24-4 loss in Game 2 to claim its seventh championship, second to Southern California’s 12.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

“We got punched in the mouth yesterday,” Tigers star Dylan Crews said. “That’s the beauty of baseball. You wake up in the morning and do it all over again. We woke up today and you could see on everybody’s faces that we were ready to go. Nobody in the country was going to beat us today.”

The Tigers wiped out an early 2-0 deficit with a six-run second inning against Jac Caglianone (7-4). The runs kept coming until they finished with the most in a title game since USC’s 21-14 win over Arizona State in 1998. The 14-run margin was the largest ever in a final. Their 24 hits were most in a CWS game — one better than Florida had on Sunday.

“It wasn’t our day, all the way around,” Gators catcher BT Riopelle said.

Thatcher Hurd (8-3) gave up Wyatt Langford’s two-run homer in the first and then allowed no hits or runs while retiring 18 of the next 21 batters. Riley Cooper took over to start the seventh and gave up Ty Evans’ CWS-record fifth homer, and Gavin Guidry finished the combined five-hitter.

Cade Beloso said Johnson’s message to the team in the morning meeting was simple.

“It was, ‘One game for the national championship. Are you in?’ Everybody was, ‘Yeah, let’s go.’ You can’t let baseball get to you,” Beloso said. “The game is brutal sometimes. You have to show up and play the next day.”

There was speculation after Sunday’s blowout loss about the Tigers bringing back ace Paul Skenes for a third start in Omaha. He threw a combined 243 pitches over 15 2/3 innings in two spectacular appearances, and he would have been working on three days’ rest.

It turned out Skenes was able to watch from the dugout in the comfort of his sneakers while LSU poured on the runs and Hatcher kept dealing. Skenes headed to the bullpen to do some stretching and throwing in the seventh inning. He went back to the dugout after the eighth and stayed there until he and teammates rushed the mound when Guidry struck out Colby Halter to end it.

Skenes was named the Most Outstanding Player of the CWS.

The overwhelmingly partisan LSU crowd included Kim Mulkey, coach of the national champion women’s basketball team and the mother of Kramer Robertson, who played shortstop on the 2017 team that lost to Florida in the CWS finals.

The Tigers had been pointing toward a title run since their first team meeting last August. Coach Jay Johnson brought back the Southeastern Conference player of the year in Crews and the rest of the core of the 2022 lineup.

Three key transfers took LSU to a higher level. Skenes was the first college pitcher in 12 years with 200 strikeouts and could be the No. 1 pick in the Major League Baseball draft in July. Tommy White hit 24 homers and drove in a nation-leading 105 runs. Hurd was solid as a starter and reliever and matched his longest outing of the year in the title game.

“Right people, right place, right time,” Johnson said. “This is the way it was supposed to go.”

LSU joined Ole Miss, Mississippi State and Vanderbilt in a line of four straight national champions from the SEC. Along with Florida in 2017, five different SEC teams have won the national championship in the past seven seasons.

“Oh my gosh, this is what I dreamed of since I was a freshman, holding this trophy,” Crews said. “We’re champions, baby, bringing it back to LSU. It’s been a long journey for us. We dealt with a lot of stuff. Just to finally say we’re national champions … I cannot wait to put another flag over the field. It’s going to be awesome.”

Florida (54-17) won the SEC regular-season title, was the No. 2 national seed and set school records for wins and home runs — the Gators hit 17 of the 35 homers by all teams in the CWS. But the Gators were unable to carry over the momentum from their record-setting production Sunday.

“I thought our team was in a really good place,” Florida coach Kevin O’Sullivan said. “I thought BP was good. They were loose. Put two on the board the bottom half of the first. I thought the dugout was electric. And then all of a sudden we had four walks and I think two hit-by pitches … and then we had to go to the ’pen earlier than we wanted to.”

Caglianone, Florida’s two-way star, struggled with his command for a second straight start and was done on the mound after 1 1/3 innings. He remained in the game as the designated hitter.

LSU got on the board when Jordan Thompson, who had been 1 for his last 30, singled in a run. It was tied after Caglianone hit Cade Beloso — his fifth hit batter in his 5 2/3 CWS innings — and a walk to Crews put LSU in front. Cade Fisher relieved and gave up a couple RBI singles and a sacrifice fly.

Josh Pearson’s fourth homer of the season highlighted the Tigers’ four-run fourth inning.

The only down note for LSU was an injury to catcher Alex Milazzo, who landed awkwardly on his left leg when he had to hurdle Riopelle as he crossed home plate in the fourth inning.

That didn’t stop Milazzo from celebrating. Skenes gave him a piggyback ride to the mound for the ceremonial dogpile.

College World Series champions
2023 – LSU
2022 – Ole Miss
2021 – Mississippi State
2020 – No champion (COVID)
2019 – Vanderbilt
2018 – Oregon State
2017 – Florida
2016 – Coastal Carolina
2015 – Virginia
2014 – Vanderbilt
2013 – UCLA
2012 – Arizona
2011 – South Carolina
2010 – South Carolina
2009 – LSU
2008 – Fresno State
2007 – Oregon State
2006 – Oregon State
2005 – Texas
2004 – Cal State Fullerton
2003 – Rice
2002 – Texas
2001 – Miami
2000 – LSU
1999 – Miami
1998 – Southern California
1997 – LSU
1996 – LSU
1995 – Cal State Fullerton
1994 – Oklahoma
1993 – LSU
1992 – Pepperdine
1991 – LSU
1990 – Georgia
1989 – Wichita State
1988 – Stanford
1987 – Stanford
1986 – Arizona
1985 – Miami
1984 – Cal State Fullerton
1983 – Texas
1982 – Miami
1981 – Arizona State
1980 – Arizona
1979 – Cal State Fullerton
1978 – Southern California
1977 – Arizona State
1976 – Arizona
1975 – Texas
1974 – Southern California
1973 – Southern California
1972 – Southern California
1971 – Southern California
1970 – Southern California
1969 – Arizona State
1968 – Southern California
1967 – Arizona State
1966 – Ohio State
1965 – Arizona State
1964 – Minnesota
1963 – Southern California
1962 – Michigan
1961 – Southern California
1960 – Minnesota
1959 – Oklahoma State
1958 – Southern California
1957 – California
1956 – Minnesota
1955 – Wake Forest
1954 – Missouri
1953 – Michigan
1952 – Holy Cross
1951 – Oklahoma
1950 – Texas
1949 – Texas
1948 – Southern California
1947 – California