Delta State QB Shegog wins Conerly Trophy as state’s top college football player

Published 12:09 pm Wednesday, November 29, 2023

JACKSON — For the first time in 15 years, the C Spire Conerly Trophy was for the little guys.

Delta State quarterback Patrick Shegog won the award, given to the top college football player in Mississippi, at a ceremony Tuesday at the Country Club of Jackson.

Shegog is the first Conerly Trophy winner since 2011 to come from a school other than Ole Miss or Mississippi State, and the first since Millsaps quarterback Juan Joseph in 2008 to play for one of Mississippi’s FCS, Division II or Division III schools.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am

“I couldn’t have done this without the best teammates and coaches in the world, and I love and appreciate every single one of them,” Shegog said. “It brings me great joy knowing how much this award means to the Delta State community. I appreciate all of the support, it means the absolute world to me.”

Shegog beat out nine other finalists — each of Mississippi’s 10 four-year football programs put up a nominee — to win the award. He joined running back Tregnel Thomas in 1996 and quarterback Josh Bright in 2000 as Delta State’s Conerly Trophy winners.

Thomas was the first Conerly recipient.

Shegog is also a finalist for the Harlon Hill Trophy, which is given to the top player in NCAA Division II. He led Delta State to the Gulf South Conference championship and the second round of the D-II playoffs as a multiple-threat quarterback.

The graduate senior from Batesville and South Panola High School passed for 2,618 yards and 32 touchdowns, while throwing just two interceptions in 300 attempts. He also rushed for 690 yards and a team-high 12 touchdowns.

In five seasons at Delta State, Shegog has thrown for 9,095 yards and 76 touchdowns, with 31 interceptions in 1,213 attempts. He’s rushed for 2,399 yards and 36 TDs.

Shegog also won the Gulf South Conference Offensive Player of the Year award this season.

“If I had a son of my own, I’d want him to be like Patrick Shegog,” Delta State head coach Todd Cooley said. “He’s the best player I’ve ever coached.”

C Spire Conerly Trophy winners
2023 – Patrick Shegog, QB, Delta State
2022 – Quinshon Judkins, RB, Ole Miss
2021 – Matt Corral, QB, Ole Miss
2020 – Elijah Moore, WR, Ole Miss
2019 – Kylin Hill, RB, Mississippi State
2018 – Jeffery Simmons, DL, Mississippi State
2017 – A.J. Brown, WR, Ole Miss
2016 – Evan Engram, TE, Ole Miss
2015 – Dak Prescott, QB, Mississippi State
2014 – Dak Prescott, QB, Mississippi State
2013 – Gabe Jackson, OL, Mississippi State
2012 – Bo Wallace, QB, Ole Miss
2011 – Austin Davis, QB, Southern Miss
2010 – Chris White, LB, Mississippi State
2009 – Anthony Dixon, RB, Mississippi State
2008 – Juan Joseph, QB, Millsaps
2007 – Damion Fletcher, RB, Southern Miss
2006 – Patrick Willis, LB, Ole Miss
2005 – Jerious Norwood, RB, Mississippi State
2004 – Michael Boley, LB, Southern Miss
2003 – Eli Manning, QB, Ole Miss
2002 – Rod Davis, LB, Southern Miss
2001 – Eli Manning, QB, Ole Miss
2000 – Josh Bright, QB, Delta State
1999 – Deuce McAllister, RB, Ole Miss
1998 – J.J. Johnson, RB, Mississippi State
1997 – Stewart Patridge, QB, Ole Miss
1996 – Tregnel Thomas, RB, Delta State