Warren Central, Vicksburg dominate Region 2-6A football awards

Published 1:25 pm Wednesday, November 29, 2023

The MHSAA All-Region 2-6A football team and awards list reads more like a combined roster for Warren Central and Vicksburg High.

The two Warren County schools combined for 18 first-team All-Region selections, 13 second-teamers, and eight individual awards in voting by the league’s coaches.

Warren Central’s Zack Evans, a wide receiver and defensive back, was the Region 2-6A MVP. The senior caught a team-high 33 passes for 589 yards and eight touchdowns, had three punt return touchdowns, and on defense had one interception and one fumble recovery.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Vicksburg wide receiver Tyler Henderson was the Athlete of the Year, and defensive lineman Demarcus Johnson the Defensive MVP.

Henderson, a senior, finished with 32 receptions for 852 yards and 12 touchdowns. He also had one kickoff return touchdown and two interceptions while playing defensive back.

Johnson, the 2022 Vicksburg Post Defensive Player of the Year in Warren County, finished with 100 tackles, 21 tackles for loss and seven sacks. He had two forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries, blocked a punt and scored one touchdown.

Vicksburg’s Koury Vample was the Defensive Back of the Year. He only had 20 tackles, but knocked down six passes and was a lockdown cornerback.

Earning first-team All-Region honors for the Gators were offensive linemen Willie Edmond and Korzabian Hill, quarterback Ronnie Alexander, running back DeCorey Knight Jr, defensive end Tyler Carter, linebacker Dennis Battle and defensive back Jadarious Henderson.

Running back Colin Johnson, offensive linemen Roshawn Carter and Mikell Jones, defensive backs Michael Johnson and Mincer Minor, and linebackers Jaheim Cattlin and Stephen Anderson all made the second team.

Warren Central’s Ronnie Blossom was named the league’s best defensive lineman, Maddox Lynch the top tight end, and Julien Demby the best linebacker.

Blossom finished the season with 80 total tackles, 20 tackles for loss, and two sacks.

Demby led the Vikings with 117 total tackles and 28 tackles for loss. He also had a team-high five interceptions, one of which he returned for a touchdown. Demby has been selected to play in the Mississippi-Alabama All-Star Game Dec. 16 in Hattiesburg.

Lynch caught 27 passes for 346 yards and one touchdown, and scored three rushing touchdowns as well. He was also Warren Central’s punter and averaged 37.6 yards per punt.

Warren Central finished with a perfect 5-0 record in the league, and 9-3 overall, while reaching the second round of the Class 6A playoffs for the fourth year in a row. For guiding the program to its first region championship since 2004, its coaches were named the Region 2-6A Coaching Staff of the Year.

Warren Central had 11 players on the All-Region 2-6A first team — Evans, Demby, Lynch and Blossom; kicker Jonah Artman; defensive linemen Larry Reynolds and Tekarius Qualls; linebacker Gavin Davenport; defensive back Garrett Orgas; and offensive linemen Claude King and Beau Davis.

Making second-team All-Region 2-6A were running backs Aden Greer and Eric Collins Jr.; linebackers Ben McMullin and Jadarius Miller; offensive lineman Stefen Harris; and long snapper Harber Williams.

About Ernest Bowker

Ernest Bowker is The Vicksburg Post's sports editor. He has been a member of The Vicksburg Post's sports staff since 1998, making him one of the longest-tenured reporters in the paper's 140-year history. The New Jersey native is a graduate of LSU. In his career, he has won more than 50 awards from the Mississippi Press Association and Associated Press for his coverage of local sports in Vicksburg.

email author More by Ernest