Vicksburg native Kevin Dent selected for Black College Football Hall of Fame

Published 11:02 am Friday, December 15, 2023

Kevin Dent is a Hall of Famer again.

The Vicksburg native and former Jackson State star was one of seven players and coaches selected for the Black College Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2024, which was announced Thursday.

Dent will join Joe Adams (Tennessee State), Antoine Bethea (Howard), Waymond Bryant (Tennessee State), Richard Huntley (Winston-Salem State), Lemar Parrish (Lincoln University) and coach Eddie Hurt (Morgan State) as inductees next summer.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am

The Class of 2024 will be honored at the 15th Annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on June 8 in Atlanta. They will also be recognized at halftime of the Allstate HBCU Legacy Bowl on Feb. 24 in New Orleans.

This is Dent’s second major hall of fame induction. In 2006, he was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame and is one of three players from Vicksburg — along with Georgia Tech’s George Morris and Millsaps’ Sean Brewer — to earn that honor.

Dent started his football career at Vicksburg High School, where he played quarterback and safety. In three seasons as a starter, he threw for 1,817 yards and 17 touchdowns while leading VHS to a 23-9 record.

Dent also intercepted five passes during his senior season, which was a sign of things to come. He moved full-time to cornerback when he signed with Jackson State, became a starter during his freshman season in 1985, and went on to have a record-setting career.

Over the next four seasons he intercepted 21 passes, leading the team twice, and became the school’s only three-time All-America selection. He was also named the SWAC’s Defensive Player of the Year twice. His career interception total is a school record and ranks among the top 25 all-time in NCAA history.

In his sophomore season, Dent tied for the Division I-AA lead with 10 interceptions and returned two for touchdowns. In 1987, he picked off a team-high six passes and made 70 tackles.

In Dent’s four seasons, from 1985-88, the Tigers won three Southwestern Athletic Conference championships (1986, ‘87 and ‘88) and were 27-1 in conference play.

About Ernest Bowker

Ernest Bowker is The Vicksburg Post's sports editor. He has been a member of The Vicksburg Post's sports staff since 1998, making him one of the longest-tenured reporters in the paper's 140-year history. The New Jersey native is a graduate of LSU. In his career, he has won more than 50 awards from the Mississippi Press Association and Associated Press for his coverage of local sports in Vicksburg.

email author More by Ernest