Warren County under tornado watch until 11 a.m.

Published 8:51 am Friday, January 12, 2024

Warren County is included in a large swath of Mississippi and Louisiana under a tornado warning until 11 a.m., according to the National Weather Service (NWS) in Jackson.

The tornado watch includes Chicot, in southeast Arkansas; East Carroll, Franklin, Madison, Richland, Tensas, and West Carroll parishes in northeast Louisiana, and the Mississippi counties of Warren, Issaquena, and Shareky in the west central part of the state; Claiborne in the southwest; Sunflower and Washington in the northwest;  Clay, Lowndes and Okitbbeha in the northeast; Carroll, Grenada, Leflore, Montgomery, and Webster in the north central; Kemper, Neshoba, Newton, Winston, Lauderdale, and Noxubee in east central; and, in central Mississippi, Attala, Hinds, Holmes, Leake, Madison, Scott, Yazoo, Choctaw, Humphreys, and Rankin.

NWS reports “severe weather is expected this morning as the next weather system moves across the area. Potential for widespread damaging winds is the primary concern and resulting power outages. A few tornadoes cannot be ruled out.”

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am