Maxine Clauser Fox

Published 3:49 pm Tuesday, March 12, 2024

Maxine Clauser Fox passed away Saturday, March 9, at the age of 88. Maxine was born August 11, 1935, in Deadwood, S.D. to John Henry and Celina McGuigan Clauser.

Maxine was raised primarily in Lead, S.D., graduating from Lead High School in 1953.

She graduated as a registered nurse from St. John McNamara School of Nursing in Rapid City, S.D., eventually being commissioned as an Air Force Lieutenant.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

While stationed at Torrejon Air Base, Spain, Maxine met Frank Creevy Fox Jr. and they soon married.

Maxine left the Air Force to stay with Creevy through the remainder of his Air Force career, settling in his hometown of Pattison, after his retirement.

Maxine then went on to serve as a home health nurse in Claiborne County for many years before retiring.

Known throughout Vicksburg and Claiborne County as “Granny,” Maxine left an enormous mark.

She was preceded in death by her parents, John Henry “Timer” and Celina Clauser and her husband, “Creevy.”

Maxine is survived by her son, John Fox (Anne) of Ocean Springs and her daughter, Francine Nosser of Vicksburg; her grandsons, Christopher Johnson Jr. of Fort Worth, Texas, Sean Johnson (Meredith) of Columbus, Ga., Regan Nosser of Vicksburg, James Baxter of Amarillo, Texas, and John Baxter (Christine) of Sacramento, Calif. She is also survived by her brothers, Bill Clauser of Rapid City, S.D., John “Toad” Clauser (Gloria) of Spearfish, S.D., sisters Carol Deaton of Baton Rouge, Nancy Phillips (Jim) of Deadwood, S.D. and Marilyn Clauser of Spearfish; many beloved nieces, nephews, and her dozens of beloved “honorary grandkids” in Vicksburg and Claiborne County.

Visitation will be Tuesday, March 12, from 9 to 10:45 a.m. at Fisher-Riles Funeral Home, 5000 Indiana Avenue in Vicksburg, followed by a funeral at 11 a.m. at St Michael Catholic Church in Vicksburg.

Interment will follow at Wintergreen Cemetery in Port Gibson.

Pallbearers will be Chip Donald, Clyde Lucas Burnett, Brendan Beesley, Shelton Headley, Chase Smith, and Jordan Muirhead.

Honorary pallbearers are Allen Hood, Will Hood, James Ogden “JOC” Carpenter, Hank Drake, Robert D. Gage IV, Robert D. Gage V, David Doyle, Russell Greer, and Gregory Hull.