2024 All-County Soccer: Godshaw earns new nickname as The Post’s Player of the Year

Published 3:55 am Sunday, March 17, 2024

During his high school soccer career, Tyler Godshaw’s teammates have given him a lot of nicknames based on how he was playing.

Kamikaze. Sir Shanks-a-Lot.

His latest one is a bit more flattering — Player of the Year.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Godshaw, a senior, led the Vikings in scoring and to their best season in more than 30 years. For his efforts, he claimed the 2024 Vicksburg Post boys soccer Player of the Year award.

“It’s pretty exciting,” Godshaw said. “It means I accomplished my goals from when I moved up here my freshman year. I wanted to be able to make an impact and I wanted to be the best.”

Godshaw always gave it his all when it came to that quest, which led to his first nickname.

“He’s the type of player that’s going to give you 110 percent. He was a good role model with his work ethic,” Warren Central coach Greg Head said. “His nickname when he was younger was ‘Kamikaze’ because he would run through you.”

Last season, Head said with a laugh, Godshaw’s moniker was changed during a shooting slump.

“He kept missing shots so we called him ‘Sir Shanks-a-Lot,’” Head said.

This season, Godshaw found his shooting touch and flourished as perhaps the Vikings’ most versatile player. He scored 18 goals and assisted on five more, but also moved around the field to fill whatever role was needed in a given situation.

Being able to shuffle around the formation, Head said, was what made Godshaw the team’s MVP more than his scoring ability.

“If we needed goals, we could move him up top. If we needed to hold a lead we could put him on defense,” Head said. “He could play any position and he could run for days.”

Godshaw said he takes pride in his versatility.

“I can get out there and play every position. I might not be good at some positions — say, goal keeper — but I will do the best I can and I will eventually be one of the best,” he said.

With Godshaw coming into his own, the Vikings also broke through to their best season in a generation. They finished with a 16-5-1 record, won the MHSAA Region 2-6A championship, and reached the Class 6A semifinals for the first time since 1993.

“It’s where we should’ve been for the last two years, honestly. All the hard work’s finally showing,” Godshaw said.

The Vikings’ success was especially sweet considering what happened the previous season. Most of the seniors were either injured or left the team for various reasons, and the Vikings slumped to a 3-12 record after eight consecutive years of double-digit win totals.

Godshaw was satisfied that he did everything he could to flip that script and go out a winner.

“We wanted it more. I wanted to go all the way to state. It was one of my goals this year,” he said. “I feel like I showed that during practice with the intensity. It brought everyone else up and all of our practices were intense. We didn’t make it to state, but we still made it far.”

Godshaw will continue his soccer career at Southwest Mississippi Community College. He’ll probably gain another new nickname there, and Head said he knows it’ll be a good one.

“I don’t have a nickname for him now,” Head said with a laugh, “but I know he’s not Sir Shanks-a-Lot any more.”

Boys Players of the Year
2024 – Tyler Godshaw, Warren Central
2023 – Birame Ndiaye, Warren Central
2022 – Cooper Madison, St. Aloysius
2021 – Tony King, Warren Central
2020 – Kieran Theriot, St. Aloysius
2019 – Ryan Theriot, St. Aloysius
2018 – Braylen Greer, Warren Central
2017 – Braylen Greer, Warren Central
2016 – John Austin Burris, Warren Central
2015 – Nick Wright, Warren Central
2014 – Chris Kurtz, Warren Central
2013 – Garrett Watson, Vicksburg
2012 – Chandler Bounds, Warren Central
2011 – Erik Chappell, Warren Central
2010 – Tim Hoeptner, Warren Central
2009 – Erik Chappell, Warren Central
2008 – Bowen Woodson, Vicksburg
2007 – Cameron Curtis, Vicksburg
2006 – Michael Cooper, Vicksburg
2005 – Michael Cooper, Vicksburg
2004 – Luke Sellers, Warren Central
2003 – Michael Head, St. Aloysius
2002 – Michael Head, St. Aloysius
2001 – Andy Gough, St. Aloysius
2000 – Chad Henley, Warren Central
1999 – Mark Titre, Vicksburg

About Ernest Bowker

Ernest Bowker is The Vicksburg Post's sports editor. He has been a member of The Vicksburg Post's sports staff since 1998, making him one of the longest-tenured reporters in the paper's 140-year history. The New Jersey native is a graduate of LSU. In his career, he has won more than 50 awards from the Mississippi Press Association and Associated Press for his coverage of local sports in Vicksburg.

email author More by Ernest