Signature moves: RCEC students announce college decisions

Published 8:21 pm Friday, May 3, 2024

River City Early College (RCEC) held its annual academic signing day Friday at the Vicksburg Convention Center, where more than 70 seniors announced their collegiate choices, while another six students unveiled career plans for after graduation.

Senior Class Advisor Amber Davis said the idea of a signing day began as a way for students to symbolically make their collegiate plans official for family and friends and thanked RCEC history teacher and signing day director Michelle Fisackerly and Vicksburg Convention Center Executive Director Erin Powell Southard for making Friday’s event possible.

“Miss Fis makes this happen,” Davis said. “When this started, it was as a kind of tailgating event, so we usually do it outside, but we needed to move indoors this year because of the weather and (the convention center) just opened up for us and told us to come on.”

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Davis said the signing event is the culmination of at least a year’s worth of preparation and pondering over collegiate choices for all seniors involved.

“This process starts when they are juniors and we visit colleges all over Mississippi,” she said. “They each have to apply to at least five schools.”

But Friday’s event included schools outside of the Magnolia state, as well as colleges and universities from around the state itself.

The event included the following RCEC students signing with the following colleges and universities:: Alcorn State University: Earnest Coleman, Danny Curry Jr., Aa’Niya Maniel, Gabriel  Thompson, and Rekayla Williams; Hinds Community College: Avyon Buck, Precious Drayton, Abigayl Haigh, Alexandra Hearn, Christopher Martinez, Rheagan McCalpin, Kamryn Morson, J.R. Myers, and Stella Sellars; University of Arkansas: Keyshan Nixon and Shayne Thompson; Mississippi State University: Logan Adams, Mackenzie Barnett, Carli Blok, Ashlyn Boler, Tyra Bridges, Cadence Carter, Tabreia Davis, Ashley Flagg, Cruz Hossley, Lucas Jeffers, Laney Lewis, Shan Patel, Haley Steele, Tyra Wardley, and Katherine Williams; Southern University (Baton Rouge): Tyrione Ross and Quenterria Wince; East Central Community College and Mississippi Delta Community College: Sarah Cameron Fancher  and Makayla Jackson; University of Mississippi: Odalis Delacruz, Abby Garton, Ellie Henderson, Jacoby Johnson, Cederius Johnson,  Maleena Manusukha, Kishna Patel, Astha Patel, Canon Satcher, and Nicolas Westcott; Mississippi College: Jamahria Atkins, Macie Barnette, Jadon Hughes, Lauren Kilroy, and Emily Worthy; La Tech: Cayleigh Dispenza and Lauren Harmon; University of Southern Mississippi: Morgan Bailey, Kaitlyn Bell, Abigail Burden, Bo Campbell, James Crews, Destiny Crump, Beau Davis, Andrashia Davis, Shaniyya Dotson, David Gibbs, Wy’neisha Hardy, Tirosky Hill, AnneMarie Jeffers, Angelina Johnson, Alyssa Kindhart, Agina Liggins, Riley Martin, Jaiden McGloster, Marcus Morgan Jr., Liliana Pineda, Timaya Taylor, Aniyah Thomas, Hailey Wells, and Matya Whitaker; Workforce: Wesley Bailess, Michael Barnett, Dakota Cook, Kassi Jones, Zaria Richardson, and Joshua Dalton Roy.