Special election Thursday; 8 polling places open for voters

Published 4:17 pm Monday, May 6, 2024

Thursday’s special election will decide Vicksburg’s next Ward 1 alderman and eight polling places will be open for eligible voters.

Vicksburg City Clerk Deborah Nickson said voters in Ward 1 will be divided into the following polling places: Municipal Precinct 1 (Auditorium, 1,108 voters), Vicksburg City Auditorium, 901 Monroe Street; Municipal Precinct 1A (Cedar Grove, 560 voters), Rolling Acres Community Center, 131 Elizabeth Circle; Municipal Precinct 2 (Spring Hill M.B. Church, 480 voters), Spring Hill Missionary Baptist Church, 815 Mission 66; Municipal Precinct 3 (American Legion, 1,371 voters) American Legion Post 3, 1712 Monroe Street; Municipal Precinct 4 (First Baptist Church, 864 voters), First Baptist Church, 1607 Cherry Street; Municipal Precinct 5 (Travelers Rest Baptist Church, 1,178 voters), Travelers Rest Baptist Church, 718 Bowmar Avenue; Municipal Precinct 6 (Plumbers/Pipefitters, 1,399 voters), Plumbers/Pipefitters Union Hall, 3203 North Frontage Road; and Municipal Precinct 7 (Kings Gym, 511 voters), Kings Community Empowerment Center, 224 R L Chase Circle.

Ward 1 voting will not occur at Municipal Precincts 5A (Elks Lodge), 9 (No. 5 Fire Station), or 10 (Porter’s Chapel Methodist Church).

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Nickson said the City of Vicksburg has mailed postcards to voters whose polling places have been affected by the new precinct lines approved in 2022; however, voters with questions about which polling place corresponds with his or her address may call the Vicksburg City Clerk’s office at 601-634-4553.

Thursday’s special election will include ten candidates vying to replace the late Ward 1 Alderman Michael Mayfield Sr., who passed away in March after a brief battle with cancer. The candidates include Gregory E. Bingham, Michael Anthony Gates, Daryl Hollingsworth, Warren Jones, Thomas “T.J.” Mayfield, Bobbie Bingham Morrow, Charles Selmon, Jamma F. Williams, Joesph Everette Williams Jr., and Kevin L. Winters Sr.

Voting will be held Thursday from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

In the event no candidate receives the majority of the votes in the special election, a runoff election will be held Thursday, May 30, between the two candidates receiving the highest number of votes in the special election.