A new beginning: Warren Central graduates Class of 2024

Published 9:04 pm Friday, May 17, 2024

The Class of 2024 stepped across the stage at the Vicksburg Convention Center Friday night and officially became alumni of Warren Central High School.

The class included graduates from the school’s three academies: Architecture, Construction, Mechatronics & Engineering; Communication, Arts & Business; and Health & Human Services. Of those three groups, a number of honors graduates were produced, including 19 graduating with high honors with distinction; 45 high honor graduates; and 37 honor graduates.

Salutatorian Ke’Ashia Greene said she had big shoes to fill in the form of her older brother C.J., who was salutatorian of the Warren Central Class of 2019.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

“From your character to you intelligence, you inspired me in all aspects,” Greene said. “I was blessed – or cursed – to repeat your cycle of sleepless nights stressing over finals.”

Greene said her classmates have also left an indelible mark on her life.

“To my fellow graduates, I see faces that I’ve been alongside since kindergarten,” she said. “And some that I’ve just met in recent years. Regardless of how long I’ve known¬† you, as we say goodbye, I will hold on to the moments and laughs we shared.”

Valedictorian Nishi Patel said graduation is as much a time for looking forward as it is for reflection.

“We’re here to celebrate,” Patel said. “We went from getting our learner’s permit, to getting our first diploma. Each of us individually overcame many obstacles to be here today. All in all, we made it. So many doors are about to open for us.”

Along with Patel and Greene, the Warren Central Class of 2024 Top Ten also included Jenna Brantley, Eric Darden Jr., Paul Winfield, Addison Leach, Mary Hossley, Adalyn Anderson, Jennifer Smith, and Katherine Carney.