Mississippi State’s Dakota Jordan wins 2024 Ferriss Trophy

Published 3:31 pm Monday, May 20, 2024

The Ferriss Trophy is headed back to Starkville.

Mississippi State outfielder Dakota Jordan won the award, given to the top college baseball player in Mississippi, Monday during a ceremony at the Golden Moon Casino in Philadelphia.

Jordan is the eighth Mississippi State player to win the Ferriss Trophy, and first since Tanner Allen in 2021.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Jordan has started all 55 games and leads the Bulldogs in five different offensive categories. He has 74 hits, 61 RBIs, and 17 home runs this season. Jordan has 23 multi-hit games this season, the most on the team.

In his two years with Mississippi State, the Jackson Academy alum has hit 27 home runs while posting a .339 batting average and driving in 101 runs, while appearing in 99 career games.

Jordan beat four other finalists, selected by a panel of coaches and professional scouts as well as fan voting, for the Ferriss Trophy. The other finalists were were Brett Sanchez of Belhaven, Ethan Lege of Ole Miss, Dalton McIntyre of Southern Miss, and R.J. Stinson of William Carey.

Jordan has led the Bulldogs to a 36-19 record as they prepare to face Ole Miss (27-28) in the first round of the Southeastern Conference Tournament Tuesday night in Hoover, Alabama. That game will begin at 8 p.m. and will be televised on the SEC Network.

Ferriss Trophy winners
Winners of the Ferriss Trophy, given annually to the top college baseball player in Mississippi
2024 – Dakota Jordan, OF, Southern Miss
2023 – Kemp Alderman, OF, Ole Miss
2022 – Tanner Hall, P, Southern Miss
2021 – Tanner Allen, OF, Mississippi State
2020 – No winner (COVID-19)
2019 – Jake Mangum, OF, Mississippi State
2018 – Nick Sandlin, P, Southern Miss
2017 – Brent Rooker, OF, Mississippi State
2016 – Jake Mangum, OF, Mississippi State
2015 – James McMahon, P, Southern Miss
2014 – Auston Bousfield, OF, Ole Miss
2013 – Hunter Renfroe, OF, Mississippi State
2012 – Chris Stratton, P, Mississippi State
2011 – Tyler Koelling, OF, Southern Miss
2010 – Drew Pomeranz, P, Ole Miss
2009 – Craig Westcott, IF/P, Belhaven
2008 – Scott Bittle, P, Ole Miss
2007 – Ed Easley, C, Mississippi State
2006 – Thomas Berkery, IF, Mississippi State
2005 – Brian Pettway, OF, Ole Miss
2004 – Stephen Head, IF/P, Ole Miss