Vicksburg’s Verhine recognized as Marcus Elvis Taylor honoree

Published 2:24 pm Tuesday, May 21, 2024

John Verhine, of Vicksburg, majoring in general business, was among the 80 University of Mississippi students to receive a 2024 Marcus Elvis Taylor Memorial Medal, the university’s highest academic award.

The honorees were recognized for their achievements on April 5, with a dinner at The Inn at Ole Miss and a ceremony at the Gertrude C. Ford Center for the Performing Arts.

The Taylor Medals were established at UM in 1904 by Dr. William A. Taylor, of Booneville, in memory of his son, an honored 1871 alumnus of the university.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

The award recognizes no more than 1% of the student body each year.