City Hall: Runoff precincts unchanged from primary

Published 7:32 pm Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Thursday’s special election runoff will decide Vicksburg’s next Ward 1 alderman and City of Vicksburg officials said polling places and times will be the same as during the primary election held May 9.

Vicksburg City Clerk Deborah Nickson said eight polling places will be open for eligible voters, with Ward 1 divided into the following precincts: Municipal Precinct 1 (Auditorium, 1,108 voters), Vicksburg City Auditorium, 901 Monroe Street; Municipal Precinct 1A (Cedar Grove, 560 voters), Rolling Acres Community Center, 131 Elizabeth Circle; Municipal Precinct 2 (Spring Hill M.B. Church, 480 voters), Spring Hill Missionary Baptist Church, 815 Mission 66; Municipal Precinct 3 (American Legion, 1,371 voters) American Legion Post 3, 1712 Monroe Street; Municipal Precinct 4 (First Baptist Church, 864 voters), First Baptist Church, 1607 Cherry Street; Municipal Precinct 5 (Travelers Rest Baptist Church, 1,178 voters), Travelers Rest Baptist Church, 718 Bowmar Avenue; Municipal Precinct 6 (Plumbers/Pipefitters, 1,399 voters), Plumbers/Pipefitters Union Hall, 3203 North Frontage Road; and Municipal Precinct 7 (Kings Gym, 511 voters), Kings Community Empowerment Center, 224 R L Chase Circle.  

Ward 1 voting will not occur at Municipal Precincts 5A (Elks Lodge), 9 (No. 5 Fire Station), or 10 (Porter’s Chapel Methodist Church).

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Thursday’s runoff will fill the alderman seat left vacant by the March death of Michael Mayfield Sr., with voters choosing between Thomas “T.J.” Mayfield and Daryl Hollingsworth. During the primary in early May, neither candidate received more than 50 percent of the 1,259 votes cast. Mayfield finished the race as the leader with 552 (42 percent), while Hollingsworth finished second with 165 votes.

According to numbers from Vicksburg City Hall, Ward 1 has a total population of 10,987, with 4,434 of those residents active voters. Another 899 Ward 1 residents are inactive voters, leaving the primary election’s turnout at just 28 percent of active votes.

Thursday’s runoff election will begin at 7 a.m. and will end at 7 p.m.