2023-24 Porter’s Chapel Academy Athletic Awards

Published 4:00 am Tuesday, June 4, 2024

Athletes of the Year
Male athlete of the year – Taylor Labarre
Female athlete of the year – Jae’la Smith
Male scholar athlete of the year – Chase Hearn
Female athlete of the year – Sarah Felker
Bubba Mims Memorial Scholarship – Thomas Azlin
Miles Hallberg Memorial Scholarship – John Wyatt Massey and Sarah Felker

Varsity softball
Most Grit Award – Sophie Masterson
Defensive MVP – Ali Blackmon
Offensive MVP – Marley Bufkin
Rookie of the year – Emily Muirhead
Miss Hustle – Mia Abdo
Eagle Award – Olivia Dawson
All-District – Marley Bufkin, Sophie Masterson, Olivia Dawson, Ali Blackmon

Junior varsity softball
Most Grit Award – Kinsley Luke
Defensive MVP – Coley Potter
Offensive MVP – Haley White
Miss Hustle – Natalie Cantin
Eagle Award – Kyleigh Hearn

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

High school girls basketball
MVP/Best offense – Jae’la Smith
Defensive MVP – Lauren Madison
Best 3-point shooter/rebounder – Sophie Masterson
Eagle Award – Emily Muirhead
Most versatile – Marley Bufkin
Hustle award – Mia Abdo
Most improved – Audrey Carraway
Most coachable – Alexis Whittington
All-district – Jae’la Smith, Lauren Madison, Marley Bufkin, Sophie Masterson

Junior high girls basketball
Eagle Award – Mia Abdo, Emily Muirhead, Michaela Chambliss, Hadleigh Slayton, Jayden Chapin, Brooklyn DeRossette, Haylee White

High school boys basketball
MVP/Best defense – Taylor Labarre
Best offense/rebounder – Ty Mack
Most assists – Noah Porter
Most coachable – Chase Hearn
Most versatile – Jase Jung
Best 3-pointer shooter – Gavin White
Eagle Award – Ryan Labarre
All-District – Ty Mack, Taylor Labarre, Noah Porter, Gavin White

Junior high boys basketball
Eagle Award – Coltin Hancock, Ryan Labarre, Clayton McClure, Wyatt Mullins, Grayson Price, Corvin Finch, Will Lancaster, Luke Wallace

Cross country
MVP/The Motivator – Nick Neihaus
True Grit – Joey Courville
Steady, Steady, Steady – John McGee
Fly Like an Eagle – Tyler Hatler
Wind Beneath My Wings – Corbin Bass
The Blake Barnard Award – Blake Barnard
The Enforcer – Hadleigh Slayton

MVP – Grayson Price
Best defense – Nick Neihaus
Most improved – Coley Potter
Best midfielder – Joey Courville
Spirit Award – Jackson Blackmon
Eagle Award – John McGee
Best offense – Gavin Pugh

MVP – Nick Neihaus

High school cheer
Cheerleader of the year – Sarah Felker
Best backspot – Chelsea Fuller
Best base – Peyton Combs
Best flyer – Jessa Hubbard
Best attitude – Madison Grey

Junior varsity cheer
Cheerleader of the year – Neelie Alexander
Most improved – Lily Fowler
Best base – Rachel Clark
Best flyer – Calliope Lloyd

High school football
Golden Helmet – John Wyatt Massey, Thomas Azlin
Offensive MVP – Jase Jung
Defensive MVP – Conley Johnston
Best offensive lineman – Jackson Blackmon
Best defensive lineman – Conley Johnston
Best running back – Jase Jung
Best linebacker – Hunter Simms
Best wide receiver – Ty Mack
Best defensive back – Taylor Labarre
Special teams MVP – Gavin Pugh
Most versatile – Ty Mack
Most improved – Jackson Blackmon
Newcomer of the year – Henry Slayton
Eagle Award – Cameron Potter
Coaches award – Taylor Labarre
All-District – John Wyatt Massey, Thomas Azlin, Taylor Labarre, Hunter Simms, Conley Johnston, Ty Mack, Jackson Blackmon, Henry Slayton, Gavin Pugh, Jase Jung

Junior high football
MVP – Lakelan Pecanty
Defensive MVP – Carson Hays
Best lineman – Landon Fuson
Most improved – Corvin Finch
Eagle Award – Coltin Hancock
Most versatile – Grayson Price
Coaches award – Clayton McClure

High school girls track and field
MVP – Marley Bufkin
Top sprinter – Jae’la Smith
Eagle Award – Audrey Carraway
Top field – Mia Abdo
Coaches award – Sophie Masterson

Junior high girls track and field
MVP – Mia Abdo
Top sprinter – Ansley Conway
Top distance – Jayden Chapin
Eagle Award – Niya Conner
Coaches award – Hadleigh Slayton

High school boys track and field
MVP – Henry Slayton
Top sprinter – Taylor Labarre
Top distance – Tyler Hatler
Eagle Award – Nick Neihaus
Top field – Jase Jung
Coaches award – Conley Johnston

Junior high boys track and field
MVP – Lakelan Pecanty
Top field – Corvin Finch
Coaches award – Blake Barnard

Varsity baseball
Pitcher award – Chase Hearn, Gavin Pugh
Defense award – Cameron Potter, Gavin White
Offense award – Thomas Azlin, Taylor Labarre, John Wyatt Massey
Coaches award – Taylor Labarre, Brayden King, Conley Johnston
Eagle Award – John Wyatt Massey
Most improved – Hunter Simms, Chad Fuson
All-District – Thomas Azlin, Taylor Labarre,
John Wyatt Massey, Chase Hearn, Gavin Pugh

Junior varsity baseball
Defensive award – Coltin Hancock
Offense award – Will Lancaster
Eagle Award – Carson Hays
Coaches award – Clayton McClure

MVP – Thomas Azlin, Henry Slayton
Most improved girl – Jordan Combs, Sophie Masterson
Most improved boy – Noah Labarre
Coaches award – John McGee
Eagle Award – Corbin Bass