Nominations open for VWSD Athletic Hall of Fame’s Class of 2024

Published 12:02 pm Wednesday, June 12, 2024

The Vicksburg Warren School District is now accepting nominations for its Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2024.

The Hall of Fame recognizes athletes, coaches and administrators who have made substantial contributions to the VWSD athletic department. The public is invited to nominate candidates, who will then be selected by a 12-member committee.

The deadline to submit applications is July 15. Application forms can be scanned and emailed to athletic department secretary Priscilla Berry at; dropped off at the VWSD Athletics Office at 1500 Mission 66; or mailed to the address listed on the nomination form.

Email newsletter signup

Sign up for The Vicksburg Post's free newsletters

Check which newsletters you would like to receive
  • Vicksburg News: Sent daily at 5 am
  • Vicksburg Sports: Sent daily at 10 am
  • Vicksburg Living: Sent on 15th of each month

Nomination forms are available from the Athletics Office or by clicking here:

VWSD Athletic Hall of Fame Information

The Class of 2024 will be announced later this summer. They will be inducted at a banquet on Oct. 17, and recognized at the Vicksburg vs. Warren Central football game on Oct.18.

To be eligible for induction, candidates must meet the following criteria:

• Athletes must have attended and participated in a sport for at least two years at Vicksburg High School or Warren Central beginning in 1970, and must have been part of a class that has graduated at least 15 years prior to nomination.

• Coaches must have coached for at least five years at a VWSD school and 10 years in their sport, and must be out of coaching for at least five years.

• Administrators must have made significant contributions to VWSD athletics and be at least five years removed from their last job.

About Ernest Bowker

Ernest Bowker is The Vicksburg Post's sports editor. He has been a member of The Vicksburg Post's sports staff since 1998, making him one of the longest-tenured reporters in the paper's 140-year history. The New Jersey native is a graduate of LSU. In his career, he has won more than 50 awards from the Mississippi Press Association and Associated Press for his coverage of local sports in Vicksburg.

email author More by Ernest